Poets logo

at least

*

By Heather HublerPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
18
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

At least she isn't suffering

At least it wasn't worse

At least it'll all be over soon

At least she has a nurse

At least it wasn't fatal

At least they have four more

At least she has her health

At least he's not a bore

*

At least

At least

At least...

*

At least is such a cop out

When we should expect much more.

*

Why do we even say it?

I use it all the time.

Yet I know when it pours out my mouth

That it's bullshit, such a crime

*

I hate it when I say it, but

At least I respond at all.

Isn't it worse to leave them hanging,

Offer something to recall?

*

At least my poem rhymes a bit

At least you read for free

Can you imagine if you paid for this?

At least I saved a tree

*

At least

At least

At least...

*

At least this is almost good-bye

At least my rhymes weren't hella long

At least we can stop pretending

When our days are finally done and gone.

*

At least.

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading!

social commentarysad poetryFree Verse
18

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloe Gilholy13 days ago

    At least is a thing we hear so much and people don't realise how much it can hurts.

  • I can’t top any of the previous comments, but I agree wholeheartedly. Great playful poem

  • Grz Colm15 days ago

    “At least I respond at all! 😅👏 Good luck with your writing challenge! ☺️

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    I found this both entertaining and convicting! Astutely written, Heather!

  • Tiffany Gordon 15 days ago

    Loved the bold truths in this one! Go HH!

  • Manisha Dhalani16 days ago

    I love thisss.. oh man, we never really think of what we say sometimes! Thank you for writing this.

  • Kenny Penn16 days ago

    Oh the uncomfortable feeling you get when using that phrase. You nailed it. Sometimes I wonder if it’s better not to say anything at all

  • Gina C.16 days ago

    We do need to cut it out of our vocabulary! I LOL'd when you said "At least my rhymes weren't hella long" because I kinda feel like my rhymes are hella long sometimes 🤣 Also - I would totally pay for this :) 🤗❤️

  • Omggg, I always say it too although I feel it's bullshit hahahahaha. At least I'm not alone 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your poem!

  • Caroline Craven16 days ago

    At least…. This is actually one of my least favourite phrases. It feels dismissive and cold and like you’re telling the other person their feelings are less worthy or not legitimate. You captured this so well. So good Heather.

  • Cathy holmes16 days ago

    "At least is such a cop out When we should expect much more." Indeed. We'll keep saying it though. This piece is quite thought provoking. I also the few bit of humour you tossed in. Well done, Nerd.

  • Ameer Bibi16 days ago

    Very well written great message is received through your poem

  • Hannah Moore16 days ago

    I mean, this was funny, but also, its prompting some reflection in me.

  • Rachel Deeming16 days ago

    Dana stole my line! But seriously, great message delivered well, as always.

  • Dana Crandell16 days ago

    Awesome poem, Heather and so very true. At least I think so. 😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.