Poets logo

At Ease

A little poem about what brings me comfort

By Jodi NichollsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
My Ragdoll cat, BB8 cuddling my hand while she sleeps

At Ease – A poem by Jodi Nicholls

In the area of grey we inhabit

Where neither joy nor sorrow call

In the moments of wakeful sleep

Where there’s you or nothing at all

In the silence of bored indifference

When seagulls caw their names

And we sit and watch and smile

As they play their weightless games

In the times our cats drape limbs

As they extend across our laps

Or when work is fraught and it’s like they know

through a head bump or gentle tap

In a world that feels so loud

Where babel pulses in my head

But I wear the tools to handle myself

So I feel at ease instead

In the moments during a storm

When neither thunder nor lightning rage

When the air is a possibility –

a chance to turn a page

In the hours I sit and dream

While I engage my expertise

And inspiration floods and spills

As my fingers dance across the keys

In the times we walk through nature

Where wind sings and flora dances

These are the moments that bring me peace

These are the moments our life enhances

By Federico Respini on Unsplash

I hope you enjoyed this poem! If you like my work, please follow me here and over on my Instagram too – @J.L.Nicholls. :)

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jodi Nicholls

As a freelance content writer, fantasy author, and reluctant minion of darkness, I spend my days devouring words and teaching my cats boundaries (which is relentless, unforgiving work...)

Escapism is life. Find me on Insta: @j.l.nicholls 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is a beautiful poem! Loved so many things here, but especially loved "As my fingers dance across the keys"...I thought that was so elegantly stated. :) I adore cats and definitely got a sense of comfort through your words here. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.