Poets logo

Aquagenic Urticaria

"Water water everywhere, nor any drop to drink."

By Lamar WigginsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Aquagenic Urticaria
Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

I wish for the day when my tears don’t burn a trail down my face.

I wish I could dance in the rainy days of spring.

I wish to dive into the pool or frolic in the waves at the beach.

But all I can do is watch…

I dreamt of sharing blue popsicles on the porch with my dad.

I dreamt of making a snowman, with an angel by his side to watch over us.

I dreamt of taking a lazy bubble bath. I gave the rubber ducky a name.

But those dreams only tease...

I would love to enjoy the simple pleasures of eating fruit; I think my favorite would be grapes. Little orbs of flavor, all packed together in a bunch. I could pick anyone of them right off the stem. That would be fun.

But even the water in a harmless grape can sicken me from the inside out...

I would love to enjoy a glass of iced tea on a hot summer day. Would I take it with lemon, or not? I don't know.

But even the glistening beads of condensation collecting on the glass is my enemy... I'll pass.

The sweat on my skin is toxic, leaving me covered in rashes. I just wanted to ride my bike for once. Too much movement leads to pain...

I want to dye my hair blue! I want to devour luscious melons! I want to run a marathon! I want to engage in battle with water balloons! I want... I want... I WANT!

But I can't have it that way...

I feel dirty. The sponge baths have lost their luster. I may endure a quick shower but there is no pleasure in that when the side effect equals bright-red rashes that itch... more pain.

This ailment has taught me nothing about life. It only cancels the experiences that water has to offer. I sit and wonder if I will ever grow out of this enduring aquatic nightmare.

I blink, nothing changes...

By Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Thanks for reading -Aquagenic Urticaria (The allergic reaction to water) is very rare. The vast majority of food contains water, so a person inflicted with this allergy has to be careful. Ingesting too much water on any given day can cause pain. They should never let it make contact with their skin, including the lips. The severity level is different from person to person.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    What a terrible fate! Thanks for teaching me about it in such a careful way!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Wow! I’d heard of this before but never really thought about the day to day of it. This is just wild… I could feel the aching pain in these descriptions! Beautiful work!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I couldn’t even imagine this. It kinda makes the problems we all face seem small. Great poem

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Very expressive way to shed light on this! Great piece!! 👍

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    What a fabulous way to describe this condition. All the wishes, misses and endurance. Love this ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. I've never heard of it, bit I imagine it's torture. Well done.

  • Whoaaa, I can only imagine what a hard life it must be for anyone who has this. Loved your poem!

  • Rayn Babout a year ago

    Beautiful piece

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.