Poets logo

ANXIETY

My closest friend these days

By MissclickedPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
46

I have this thing in me

people call it

A

N

X

I

E

T

Y

sometimes my heart forgets its functions

stops, slows and races for some reasons

air rushes in and out

no words to figure-out

the stomach adds to the show

forges its anger, all in a row

my mind acts cool though

it goes numb

like there's no way to go

my last two brain cells in a corner

figure things out like a foreigner

At the last, I surrender

to my own weapons

it's scary, those 60 seconds

yet before I rest my case

let me embrace my face

it's the only one that acts the same

no eyebrow arches

no folds on the skin

no discoloration

not even a hint

like a close friend

keeps the secret till the end

Because;

I have this thing in me

people call it

A

N

X

I

E

T

Y

vintagesurreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalhumorheartbreak
46

About the Creator

Missclicked

Hey fella! welcome to my blog or you could say a little window into my thoughts. Here I will be writing about various topics like, life experiences, short fictions, poems and sometimes a little insights to my life. I hope we all get along!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • M9 months ago

    Thank you for writing this. Such a beautiful flow!

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    I felt this and have noticed that I get relief when I realize everything does not have to be done instantly. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I hear that - great job Missclicked!! 😊

  • MARIE ODEMS 9 months ago

    BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

  • Love the pic and the poem Well done very impressive

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Very well put. Excellent poem

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Pure and authentically expressed!!! Congratulations on Top!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Fabulous work!

  • Kimmiekins49 months ago

    I love this <3

  • Amazing Piece📝👌❤️Congratulations on Your Top Story🎉

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Well, that was crafty and relatable. Thank you for sharing. And congrats on your Top Story!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Wow! So proud I nominated you in the Raise your voice. Congrats, so well deserved Top Story.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Coming back to say congrats on top story!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I had anxiety so bad I was pulled out of high school by my doctor, so I know the feeling all too well. Fortunately I rarely get it now. Just when something big is about to happen, good or bad. Congrats on your first Top Story, and here’s to many more! 🥂

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    "my last two brain cells in a corner, figure things out like a foreigner." Sometimes a line from a writers mind reaches out and demands that you read it again and again until it digs deep down inside you and moves you somehow. This is Poetry at its best and you have done that here!! Congrats on a well deserved Top Story. You have a new subscriber.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This is inctedible and so relatable and meant to read it sooner, glad I read it today. Congrats on an awesome Top Story!

  • Omggg this was so relatable! You nailed anxiety perfectly!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    A lot of that going around these days. Breathe in, breathe out, walk, run dance laugh cry joyfully. Different things work for diff folks, just pick one and go.

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    Thank you!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    RELATE 🥲

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Ya the insomnia that comes with it. Sometimes you just have to fall apart and then restart

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Anxiety is definitely a deception. It’s a battlefield we have to conquer

  • Eshita Bhati9 months ago

    Can relate here badly👀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.