Poets logo

My Message To The World

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
6

Trigger Warning: This poem includes metaphorical language of self-harm. If you or a loved one have thoughts about suicide or self-harm, here are resources for you to reach out to get help.

988lifeline.org or text HELLO to 741741

You are not alone <3

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------You have broken me down to the last bit of life. I barely held on tonight yet,

you still make me live my nightmare.

You built me to be kind, loving and understanding, everything that everyone around me isn't.

My soul is old and passed on from the lives before my time,

somehow I ended up in the wrong era.

I am old and young, complex and straightforward, fearless and scared,

but ultimately alone in this world.

Why did you bring me here with these people who do not understand my mind?

I am the Van Gogh of this time,

continuously made to feel unimportant.

Shall I cut an ear off? Or maybe a limb to show that I am real and human and still have some sort of feelings?

Would that be enough?

My art is what I leave behind, but I do not feel done with this world just yet,

all I ask is for the kindness you bestowed in my heart to be present in those who ever may interact with me.

I am old and young, but both are tired and want peace. This world has broken me, but I do not want to remain broken.

fact or fictionMental HealthCONTENT WARNINGart
6

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. Your support is much appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    This was so poignant and emotional. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.