Poets logo

And Then Suddenly

An Ode

By Callum Wareing-SmithPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5
And Then Suddenly
Photo by Ioann-Mark Kuznietsov on Unsplash

And then suddenly, without any real anticipation, reason or meaning,

You feel it;

That incredible rush of feeling, emotion and love,

Longed for in the great love stories and movies from days gone by,

It takes an insignificant moment;

His brown eyes piercing the deep depths of your soul;

An incredible happiness; a strength.

And then suddenly, the love you already felt, that you hold in your heart,

Doubles, trebles and quadruples;

Over and over again.

Your “raison d’être”, your everything.

It’s dangerous; suddenly he is the breath you breathe.

He’s impossible to be without. He is the missing piece of the puzzle.

And then suddenly, you look forward to the next decades of your life.

Cautiously advancing the years; not wanting to rush a second he is by your side.

Suddenly, old age doesn’t seem so terrifying with him around.

Because year by year, as our love matures, I fall deeper into a trance; a chasm of scary, dangerous, imperfectly-perfect love.

“He is mine, and I am his”.

Any commitment I have made to him, on our wedding day or before, is multiplied each year I am retained in my husbandly position.

His laugh, his pure spirit, his kind moments shadowed; I love everything; the good, the bad and the ugly. And if heaven exists; I know it is a sofa with him next to me; existing, loving and being.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Callum Wareing-Smith

“Words! Mere words! How terrible they were! How clear, and vivid, and cruel! One could not escape from them. And yet what a subtle magic there was in them!” - Oscar Wilde

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Absolutely gorgeous. And I learned a new use for the word "treble." Amazing work here, it's breathtaking as your love was breathtaking.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Gorgeous! I can almost touch the love you describe.

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I love how steadying this felt to read. Despite the shock of the "suddenly" it was more like feeling the tug of an anchor rope when you felt adrift than the upturning push of the waves.

  • I love this image of heaven you describe here. Psalm 133 through & through.

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Hey, just letting you know I shared this poem in my latest story: https://vocal.media/poets/poppy-s-preferences-pt2

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Wow, this was simply amazing. I had to reread multiple lines just to process how good they were. The ending was especially beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.