Poets logo

Poppy's Preferences Pt2

Underrated Discoveries: Showcasing less-read stories in the poets community

By Poppy Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
23
Poppy's Preferences Pt2
Photo by Adam Przeniewski on Unsplash

Welcome back to Poppy's Preferences :)

This week I didn't find as many creators that were new to me but definitely stumbled across some beautiful poems. Please check out the links below and look at the poets' profiles too!

*****

Give Me More to Love by Hannah Moore

Okay, this has got to be one of the cleverest poems I've ever read. I'm assuming it's for the Short and Sweet Challenge; she did an absolutely amazing job of saying so much with just four letter words and less. It was incredibly captivating and like I said, INSANELY CLEVER. I can't even explain how good it was.

And Then Suddenly by Callum Smith

This one told a beautiful touching narrative which was effortless to read. There were multiple gorgeous lines I had to reread but the end one really stuck with me:

And if heaven exists; I know it is a sofa with him next to me; existing, loving and being.

On Marriage and Summer Squash by L.A. Hancock

This one was so creative and unique filled with affection and warmth. It all led up to a beautiful, heart-touching ending.

This is New by Mackenzie Davis

Mackenzie Davis always writes incredible poetry, never ceasing to take my breath away. Her poems from the past week have given me a new appreciation for haiku. This was probably my favourite but it was hard to choose. She has incredible talent.

*****

Here's another few that already has some reads but definitely deserve more!

Wildflowers by Joelle Nanula

These four haiku are beautiful on their own and even more amazing together. They flow so effortlessly and have an uplifting message behind them. Some of my favourite poems I've read lately.

Every Inch by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

This one says so much in such few words. The similes are gorgeous and I found myself rereading it multiple times to fully appreciate the beauty of it.

*****

Thanks for reading!

Here's one of mine:

list
23

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Did I never comment on this??? Thank you so much for featuring me, Poppy! I just read all of your suggestions and I was wowed more than once! Your eye for poetry is superb, and I am enjoying catching up on your Preference series. Kelli's was WOW and I really loved L.A. Hancock's.

  • This is such a cool thing you do. Opening us up to new reads we may have missed and is such a great way to support another writer. Thank you for all you do. Your insights and feedback are a great source of encouragement.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I completely missed this collection. Sorry about that - came across it because I saw Pt3...and thought, "Wait...did I miss part 2!" lol! I love that there are some writers I know and love in your selection and some that I've never read. Keep this up! As Judey said, seeing what poems and writers stand out to different creators is interesting. I love your introductions to each piece and love your community spirit! As part of my reading for today on Vocal I shall look at this and Pt2. Thank you for being an asset to the Vocal community, Poppy!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    This was very thoughtful of you. It's good to see fellow poets highlighting each other. Thank you for the suggestions.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Thank you for the suggestions! I have reading to do! :-)

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    I’ve read two so far, great choices!

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    It's so interesting to see what poems and stories reach out to our fellow writers and creators. Thank you for the work you do to assemble them and write such captivating intros.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Thanks Poppy, now I have something to look forward to reading on my lunch break later today. 😊

  • That is great to share these and bring them to a wider audience

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I've really enjoyed each of these this morning, thank you so much.

  • Joelle E🌙10 months ago

    I’m so grateful for this feature, and so happy u enjoyed!! Thanks Poppy ❤️

  • Excellent selection. The only one I had already read was Kelli's.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loving your preferences!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.