Poets logo

Forsaken

(Again)

By Poppy Published 11 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
38
Image Created with Midjourney

Note: This poem is another entry in Real Poetic's Mini Challenge which you can find here. The Prompt: Explore the theme of your greatest fear.

❀❀❀❀❀

I am used to

Watching time slowly

Stitch all my cuts closed

It has a slow but steady hand

One I have cursed more

Than thanked

But now my wound

Seems to go untended

The world turns mercilessly

But offers me no new beginnings

I am confined in the past

To the point of claustrophobia

Clawing at closed doors

Craving closure and

Receiving ignorance

There are pictures on my phone

Of two best friends promising

Each other forevers

There are letters in a box

From a girl who used to

Swear she’d never leave

There are memories in my head

That consume me like a sickness

Clogging my lungs like smoke

Filling my eyes like allergies might

Squeezing my heart with

Relentless cruelty

You are my last straw

My final breath

My breaking point

You play on repeat

Inside my brain like

A vicious nightmare

And I am hopelessly

Terrified that I will never

Be able to get over how

You walked away without

A single trace of

Compassion

(You used to have

So much of it)

❀❀❀❀❀

Please read more of my work:

sad poetry
38

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Oh Poppy, this is breathtaking and so full of emotion. 🥹❤️ Truly wonderful job! Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Missclicked11 months ago

    amazing piece, loved it!

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    Awesome. Really touching. Great stuff, thanks.

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨11 months ago

    Wow. This resonates deeply. Thank you for writing this 🤍

  • Denise E Lindquist11 months ago

    Congratulations on top story 😊💕

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Damn, felt every single line and word of this poem. Great work on the prompt with this one. Well done!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Poppy this was intense and melancholic! It felt passionate and driven with every word, so beautifully articulated! A very emotional and tantalizing piece! Great work!

  • Mustapha Mannir11 months ago

    Worth reading, grinded emotional flow. Love it deeply

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Hauntings if the past live in our preseht. Surreal, yet real oietey. Congratulations 🥇

  • Rachel M.J11 months ago

    This was gorgeous. This line hurt to read (but in a good way!) "You are my last straw, My final breath, My breaking point"

  • I love the analogy of the confinement to the past to claustrophobia. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Colleen Millsteed 11 months ago

    This is awesome. Well deserving of top story.

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Wow, an amazing poem. Congratulations on top story, heart-rending experience of separation, and the times that were and could have been. Bravo!

  • Jack Wayne Arnett11 months ago

    enjoyed very much! A bit dark, but feels very real and connected.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    I felt every line in this poem. Powerful, heartbreaking entry to the challenge. Congratulations!

  • Congratulations on your bleak Top Story🎉❤️💯😉📝👍

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Heart breaking and raw, a very sad vignette of a truly lovelorn time. Excellent work❤️

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    So glad this got Top Story, Poppy! Yay! 🥂

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Gorgeous work 😩😭❤️

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Lovely, sad and always that elusive love.

  • Clawing at closed doors, craving closure. This is sooooo me. And that is why I'm still stuck in the past. Loved your poem!

  • My best friend & one time beloved was unable to say she loved me, walked away, & no longer speaks to me. This fearsome haunting has continued for over four decades.

  • Ugh, me too. This was so well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.