Poets logo

An Uncommon Love

A sonnet about the rarity of rain and finding true love in Outback Australia.

By Nadia CowperthwaitePublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
An Uncommon Love
Photo by Lucy Chian on Unsplash

Thunder rumbles across the desert,

Dark clouds consume the remaining daylight.

Lightning strikes close by, burning rock and dirt,

I shield my eyes against the bolt of white.

Humidity ripples over my skin,

But goosebumps prickle as I watch the storm.

I falter as I think of where I've been,

Images of you in my mind's eye form.

My skirt flows around my legs in the wind,

Rain soaking the land on which I wander,

While my devotion for you has not dimmed

Suffering threatens to pull me under.

Stumbling, weeping, I long for your warm embrace.

Love... As uncommon as the rain in this desolated place.

***

❤️ And subscribe to keep up with all my poetry and fiction!

sad poetrynature poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Nadia Cowperthwaite

Aussie mum living in the Outback with a passion to share stories.

I have degrees in journalism and media, an MBA, currently undertaking a research degree.

Facebook: @nadiacowper

Instagram: @nadiacowper

TikTok: @nadiacowper

Twitter: @nadiacowper

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful poem

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Beautiful written!!! Loved it!!!💕💖

  • Excellent words and about wanting and needing and I am subscribed <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.