Poets logo

An Explosion of Unexpected Discovery

When love first visited my world

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a month ago 2 min read
7
Image courtesy of Pixabay

This poem has been written as part of Sahil Patel's (Medium Writer) Lifeline's (Medium Publication) poetry prompts.

Today's prompt is: Write about the feeling when first time you fell in love. Let your words paint a vivid portrait of that moment when everything changed, when love whispered its sweet promise into your soul. Share with us the magic of that unforgettable journey through the tender tendrils of first love.

An Explosion of Unexpected Discovery

When love first visited my world

Unexpectedly, delightfully and awe-inspiring.

**

Once upon a time; many, many moon’s ago,

I discovered the music my heart beats to in the name of love.

**

A teenage girl, a teenage boy,

Eyes that locked for the first time,

And a heart that jumped to life instantaneously.

**

In my chest I felt the blood pounding through my veins,

The pitter, patter of hundreds of tiny feet running rampage within my heart,

I swear I heard whispered giggles of glee,

As I fell in love for the very first time.

**

Excitement prickled my skin,

My chest swelled until I was totally speechless,

Eyes glistening in absolute adoration,

Fear softly creeping in as I realised I had something to lose,

A destined connection that shattered my every preconceived notion.

**

My Soul danced with happiness, awakening,

My mind was blown wide open, in awe,

My feet began to dance to a tune of self discovery,

And my heart raced in sheer anticipation

Of a future of glory, pain, love, ecstasy and profound possibilities,

Lessons of the heart unmatched to anything I’d ever experienced before.

**

My world exploded in an array of fireworks,

Sparks of colour heightened sensuously,

Noises crooned into my once deaf ears, deafeningly silent,

New breath breathed into sleeping cells,

As I expanded to encapsulate another being’s desires.

**

Life had suddenly incorporated my very essence,

Flashing before my eyes in a torrid river of liquid destiny,

Awakened to the fluidity of desire and temptation,

A new experience to be explored; slowly, wildly, in wonder.

**

I felt raw, bruised and bloody,

Torn from safety into a field of bliss,

Soothed into a lifetime of uncertainty.

**

My daily tempo took a turn to delight,

Where security blanketed me in the arms of another.

**

The preciousness of my first love had been discovered.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

love poems
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    This is wonder, and chaotic, and just like first love. Well done. I think you nailed this feeling.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Awww, this made me smile so much! It was absolutely wonderful!

  • For me it was helpless terror. It took a very long time before I could graduate to lost confusion, uncertain how to navigate the terrain. Over time it became a never-ending cycle (so it seemed) of unrequitance (either from me or from her), before finally landing on amicable surrender.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Wonderfully written & loved the first love poem!!!💕❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.