Poets logo

Am I Being too Honest?

No, but really...

By IanPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I always wonder that;

At any given moment,

The drop of a hat,

The tumbling of a dime

Bouncing along the tarmac as I fly through my mind (because fuck a train of thought),

Am I being to honest?

Should I not tell you my plans and dreams?

Should I not tell you how I have deliberately left space

In my heart, soul, and mind, at the seams

To sew you into the the fabric of said dreams?

Should I keep to myself how long my heart has screamed?

Shouted for your smile,

Screeched for a sunrise spent in the company of you?

Why should I?

A few idle days ago, I didn’t even know someone like you

Could come through

Drifting through the fields of my awareness

How can I honestly say I knew I longed for you,

When I didn’t know your name,

Had never seen your face,

Didn’t know your scent,

Never tasted your embrace….

And I still haven’t….

But I can’t deny how you wind through my mind,

How I want to give you every spare second I can find,

How easy it seems for me to want to bind

You into my life, my goals, struggles and success,

Give you anything and everything, even if it were my last breath….

Well, no, actually, that last line was a lie,

If you needed more air, I would find a way to snatch it from the sky,

If the sky had none to give, I would make the clouds cry…

And I sometimes wonder why….

But at the same time, I don’t care

Because I find myself wanting nothing more than to tangle my fingers in your hair….

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.