Poets logo

Slow Down

But Why

By IanPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Let me ask you this;

If destiny was presented to you in the form of a kiss…

Would you hesitate? Or would you pucker up and lean in?

But can it really be Kismet

When you have such an ardent desire to kiss someone

You haven’t even met yet?

All logic says slow down,

Yet my intuition screams,

But why?

Why go at a stately pace,

When you know like I know, like fate knows,

That it is death to wait when you know the universe is offering life…

You tell me hesitate

When fate, fickle and razor edged,

Has served everything I could envision on an etched plate

A plate that reads

Simply

Kismet

But can it really be Kismet

When you have such an ardent desire to kiss someone

You haven’t even met yet?

Can it truly be destiny,

When I am falling so deeply into a person

I have yet to see

In the flesh is the truth and lie

A life giving touch,

Separation from which could make one want to cry,

Yet either sensation I have yet to know,

Yet sentiment still continues to grow

Yet senselessly, I want to throw

Myself deeper into this feeling

This fate, this destiny

This Kismet….

Yet

Can it really be Kismet

When you have such an ardent desire to kiss someone

You haven’t even met yet?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.