Poets logo

Alaska Gold

Gold Rush

By Marty WestPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

57m

Alaska Gold

Well in 1904 I decided to make my way

Heard about a gold rush almost every day

Left my home and my family trying to get rich

Now here I am sleeping in a ditch

To many times spent money in the saloons

Drinking and gambling from midnight till noon

The queen of hearts I was told to hold

But she robbed my pockets of silver and gold

The whiskey I was drinking was my downfall

When you ain't got a penny you ain't that tall

All the pretty ladies treated me like a king

But when you are busted you don't mean a thing

Ladies,whiskey and gambling my life was so fine

Then I woke up one morning and didn't have a dime

Going back to my home where I wished I'd stayed

Cause in Alaska in the ground your body will lay

Marty West

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Marty West

Happily Married 58 years old

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.