Poets logo

My Beautiful Friend

Tribute to John Lennon

By Marty WestPublished 4 years ago โ€ข 1 min read
Like

My beautiful friend

You turned the world on with your songs

My beautiful friend

You tried to bring joy to a world gone wrong

You sang of freedom,peace and love and unity

Trying to change people for the better at every opportunity

And you poured your heart out and sang so true

My beautiful friend this is my song to you

The church bells would ring

The white dove would sing

Every time you poured out you heart and soul

The church bells would ring

The white dove would sing

Because freedom for every one was your goal

Freedom for every one was your goal

My beautiful friend

How we all loved to hear you sing a tune

My beautiful friend

But in the blink of an eye you were gone to soon

You brought inspiration to a generation filled with unrest

All you wanted was for all the people to have the best

You stood the test of time for having a heart so true

My beautiful friend this is my song to you

John Lennon this is my song to you

Marty West

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Marty West

Happily Married 58 years old

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.