Poets logo

Aisle A-1

From across the room challenge poem.

By Angela DerschaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
21
Aisle A-1
Photo by Marques Thomas @querysprout.com on Unsplash

You were stocking the pasta, I was nervously watching you work.

Handsome, nineteen, and hard at work. Humming a tune.

On the other hand, I'm shy, fourteen, and blushing over a sales clerk.

I needed to act fast, my family would be leaving soon.

Rushing to the register, you're already there.

Professional and friendly with a brilliant smile,

I'm stammering, shaking, emotionally bare.

I spoke first, breaking the silence after a while.

Softly I whisper a confession, although forbidden.

Your eyes lit up like the sun as you accepted.

It was our secret, barely hidden.

For it was in an Aldi grocery store that we first connected.

This was my first love story, with many to come

I wish it had ended better; turns out he was scum.

love poems
21

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    So sorry this didn’t turn out well! I’m sure we’ve all had experiences like this, though.

  • That was unexpected

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.