Poets logo

After the Party

I return Home

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
After the Party
Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

After the party, I return home

I am not drunk with joy

I am not drunk with contentment

The people and the joy of the crowd

All fall off me as I return to my existence

As a young girl, I had dreamed

I had hoped, I had planned, I had schemed

And then the world crashed around me

It told me not to strive, not to climb, not to dream

That existence was feasible, but not to shine.

Independence, control, enough so the government in my life does not define.

To be above the world, I had dreamed, To have earned my own

I returned home, after the party, and I cried

I had hoped, I had planned, I had schemed

And then the world crashed around me

It told me not to strive, not to climb, not to dream

social commentary

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dr. Constance Quigley2 years ago

    I hope you chose to dream anyway. Beautiful job

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    WOW!!! This is just so spot on for our world today. Loved it.

  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    This is so beautiful and so incredibly relatable! Wonderfully written!

  • I love this poem so much! Simple and yet completely encompasses how many of us are feeling in a world that tries so hard to define and control us instead of just letting us live and dream.

ALBWritten by Antoinette L Brey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.