Poets logo

Abecedarian Creek

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
11
Abecedarian Creek
Photo by Rahul Dey on Unsplash

A

babbling brook

careening

down

every

facet of the

gorge

Hurrying on

its

journey

Kicking rocks out of its way

Life springing up along its shores

Mice and

newts scurry about

Over into

ponds it spills where

quacking ducks reside

Rolling over tops of dams and

sliding under bridges

to

unforetold lands

Venturing near and far

Winding its way for

xoloitzcuintles to sip from it

Yonder more it etches its path into the earth, continuing to

Zoom on by, only to empty into the ocean at its end

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintageVillanellesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetrySestinaSenryusad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetryPantoumOdenature poetryMental Healthlove poemslistLimerickinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakHaikuGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst DraftFilthyFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsElegyEkphrasticCinquainchildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsBlackoutBalladartAcrostic
11

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Love the rapid flow to mimic the water, and "Kicking rocks out of its way" is such a great line! Nice:)

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    The flow of this (for lack of a better word) works very well to mirror your subject! 👏

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Very nicely done.

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    You wrote this so beautifully.

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    I felt I was on the journey, nicely done🏆

  • You had me at "babbling brook", Atomic. I enjoyed every word of this as it washed over me. And I'm guessing you had a lot of fun using the word "xoloitzcuintles"! Pretty impressive.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.