Poets logo

A Waveless Lake

On the Plane of my Existence

By Cathy holmesPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Smooth Challenge
54
Photo by Nathan Farrish on Unsplash

Awakened with the morning sun

to the soft, silken touch of my mother’s arms,

I swam with summer on a waveless lake.

I’ve glided through winter’s glossy river on blades of shimmering steel,

with the soothing chill of virgin snowflakes on my tongue.

I’ve inhaled the mellow scent of lilacs

while laying on a bed of fresh daffodils,

and gazed in wonder at the beauty of a rainbow on the Spring horizon.

*

Now, As I stand on the plane of my existence

and watch the leaves fall on the autumn of my life -

the reds, yellows, and browns of times long past -

I wax mournfully for the unwrinkled moments of my youth,

and the lustrous greens that once defined me.

I look upon the twilight of my middle age,

and see those leaves fall, in all their splendid glory,

and I can only remember, and hope.

*

I can hope that as I approach the nightfall of my life,

and close my tired eyes on the plane of my existence,

that I’ll have left memories of warmth like summer sunshine,

of ethereal smiles as soothing as the scent of spring lilacs,

of a soft, silken touch like a mother’s love,

and of a life well lived and a soul worthy

of effortless transition

to a waveless lake of eternal peace.

surreal poetrynature poetryinspirational
54

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (51)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox3 months ago

    Rich and beautiful verses layered with meaning. I feel this. Quite lovely.

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    Love the images of nature your words evoke, and the wistfulness too. A wonderful read!

  • Ward Norcutt5 months ago

    Very lovely imagery in this piece, Cathy. "Unwrinkled moments of my youth" - gorgeous.

  • Alison McBain5 months ago

    What vivid description! Such a beautiful comparison to a life fulfilled.

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    Congratulations!!! 🥰🥰🥰

  • And that's how a Queen rightfully claims her throne! Congratulations!!!!!!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    This was beautiful, Cathy. Happy belated Top Story and Congrats on placing!!!🥇💯🤩

  • J. S. Wade5 months ago

    Congratulations Cathy! ❤️. Beautiful poem!

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    Yay! Congratulations! This is a winning entry for sure! 💫💞

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    YAY - Congrats buddy! Well done and all that. So happy for you, pal!

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    Congrats! Wonderfully written poem!

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Ah yes, the wistful imagery of a life well lived- love it!

  • Breathtaking imagery and what LC. Said. Well done Cathy 🐈‍⬛

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    Optimism in the face of our ultimate undoing is so very, very You ❤️

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Such a beautiful and poignant expression, Cathy!

  • Gerard DiLeo6 months ago

    This was very beatiful. Ah, the wisdome from one's sense of mortality.

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Your words wake up my senses. A beautiful written poem.

  • Windchime6 months ago

    Love it. I can taste it... It reminds me of Lake Louise.

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Back to say congrats on top story, my friend!!! So well deserved! *sorry I’m late to the party, just catching up*🙌🏽✨💞

  • Tressa Rose6 months ago

    Wow, I love this, so beautiful!

  • The Son6 months ago

    Cathy, you have such a beautiful way with words never stop writing.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story!!!

  • Brenton F6 months ago

    Wow Cathy, double wow! "the unwrinkled moments" sprang out and now will remain etched in me, so perfect!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.