Poets logo

Caffeinated Kiss

I'll be okay

By Cathy holmesPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
66
Author's photo

When morning yawns and rubs midnight’s eyes,

when daylight smiles through brightening skies,

I rise with the promise of a caffeinated kiss,

and sunshine smiles of afternoon bliss.

*

When dusk stretches through the darkening eve

and light begs with its blazing reprieve,

to hold on for so long as can be,

to the golden aura in yearning trees

*

When the day has long closed her tired eyes

and midnight readies her silent reprise,

when moonlight shines in the starry night,

I’ll think of you, in your heavenly flight.

*

I’ll see your smile in the morning haze.

I'll feel your warmth in the summer days.

And if my tears should fall like rain,

you’ll dry them when sun shines again.

*

So, I’ll start each day with a caffeinated kiss,

and a memory of you, with afternoon bliss.

And when those tears do come my way,

Don't worry for me. I’ll be okay.

sad poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
66

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (47)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    ❤️

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Loved it!💖 Congratulations on the well-deserved top story🎉🎉🎉

  • Lisa santos6 months ago

    This is so nice to read Amazing text!!

  • Leslie Writes6 months ago

    This is so lovely <3

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    This is beautifully done Cathy!

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    This is so evocatively bittersweet Cathy, so well written. I loved the title too

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Soul-stirring. Well written Cathy, and no doubt will resonate with many. Top Story Congratulations!

  • Test6 months ago

    This heartfelt poem beautifully captures the essence of love, loss, and resilience. Keep up the good work 👍

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Your imagery and word usage in this piece was sublime but it paled in comparison to the emotions you pulled from me. I'm not crying. Sending big hugs to you, my friend. Congratulations on a Top Story that I hope everyone reads and maybe takes some comfort from :)

  • Beautifully composed. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Oh my, what an incredible piece, Cathy! Each line completely swept me away. You did an outstanding job writing beauty and grief, and the way they can sit hand in hand. I love everything about this! Beautiful work! ☀️☕️💞💫

  • Wow, Cathy. This is beautiful on so many levels! Well done!

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    This is beautifully done and truly deserving of a Top Story

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story. What a nice way to start any day

  • I wake yo a caffeinated kiss every morning well done Cathy

  • This was so poignant and emotional. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️ Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Diani Alvarenga6 months ago

    Lovely reading, congrats on top story!

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    I thought this was going to be about a love of a "Double Double" at first and then you hit me with something so poignant and that last line "I'll be okay" that it took me by surprise. A lovely tribute to someone dear. Congrats on well deserved TS.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Very nice Cathy! Congrats. 👏🎉I really need to stop drinking instant coffee! 😅

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    Lovely. Well deserved top story

  • Paul Levinson6 months ago

    Beautiful, heart-rending poem. Top story well deserved.

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    Omg so heartwarming and the flow was excellent. Such a great poem in every way.

  • Clyde E. Dawkins6 months ago

    Very beautiful poem! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Dana Stewart6 months ago

    Oh my. To be loved is a wonderful thing. Beautiful honor poem. Congrats on the Top Story for this incredible poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.