Poets logo

A Tree for Dad: A Tale of Tree-Trimming Turmoil

Mother Combs: Unofficial Vocal Community Challenge

By DaphsamPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
A Tree for Dad: A Tale of Tree-Trimming Turmoil
Photo by Felicia Buitenwerf on Unsplash

This is Mother Combs's Unofficial Vocal Community Challenge. Here is my poem entry. Thank you so much, Mother Comb for this opportunity.

The Christmas tree stood tall,

Like a proud soldier guarding it’s corner.

The message was clear to all,

I am Douglas Fir, not a foreigner!

**

Unspoken words from a tree,

That sang,

I am beautiful, can’t you see?

Welcome the way my branches hang.

**

Cover with decorations,

Divert eyes with glitter and gold,

Be strategic with the locations.

A tree for Dad, this will leave him cold.

**

Throw some tinsel here,

silver baubles there,

Festive trimmings even in the rear,

Ornaments that have a flare.

**

The stage has been set,

We are ready for the unveiling.

My nerves are fried, armpits are full of sweat,

This Christmas tree is for my Dad, who was ailing.

**

The living room was filled with stress,

As my Dad came through the door,

Gazed at the tree mess,

Then peered at the floor.

**

Sending up prayers,

For a Christmas miracle,

Of acceptance, do I dare?

Yet this scene was quite satirical.

**

“Where's the rest of the tree?”

My Dad spoke,

Words carried with a note of plea.

Not sure what you mean Dad, I answered with a choke.

**

“What are you trying to do,

Break an old man’s heart

With the most pathetic tree, you know it’s true?”

Yes, I knew right from the start.

**

This tree was the not the best,

Charlie Brown’s tree had more branches of green,

This tree looked like an ornament mess,

Like someone had picked the pine needles off clean.

**

With elderly eyes drilling holes,

Into the back of my head, I had to utter the words,

The tree farm sent the wrong one, damn their souls!

**

Upon further exploration,

My fumble this year,

Too busy to pick his tree,

Leaving it to another, I fear.

**

Can I still get a Christmas Miracle?

One that is of acceptance so lyrical?

**

Telling him it’s not that vile,

If we use powers of imagination,

We can turn that frown to a smile.

Stop with your negative fixation.

**

Squint your eyes.

Back up a step, one, two, three,

It’s a great way to disguise,

The fact that this is a bare ass tree!

**

It was a comedic moment,

One that was full of laughter for me.

Sadly, Dad couldn’t get into the humorous moment.

His Christmas spirit started with the tree.

**

A lesson for all adult children,

Make the time for picking out the tree.

Wrestle it on your car with the grandchildren,

Even when you have time, that it’s not so free.

**

Because you never know,

When it turn out to be,

The very last Christmas tree,

your elderly parent ever sees.

humorsad poetrylove poemsHolidayheartbreak

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Tressa Rose6 months ago

    This was so sweet!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Wonderful, and so true. You never when it'll be the last.

  • This was a tear jerker. It made me so emotional 🥺

  • Xine Segalas7 months ago

    Nice job and sage advice.

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Great advice on the tree, yet, just look past the tree and see the loved ones, imagine the tree is perfect. Yet, just get a great tree for Dad.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Beautiful poem

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.