Poets logo

After I'm Ghosted, I Ask The Internet What It Means to Be In Love

By Ayva MPublished 3 days ago Updated about 21 hours ago 2 min read
After I'm Ghosted, I Ask The Internet What It Means to Be In Love
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

okay google, what is love? because once i felt a low gut knock,

& now, now i’m not one to open doors unannounced, so if you know,

in your many infinite wisdoms please name it for me somehow.

`

Love encompasses many positive feelings, such as affection,

compassion, and selflessness. Is this what you felt?

`

hey google, i’m unsure. once, i told him i would do anything he asked

me to. is this affection? i watched his knuckles shift through

a green light & he said nothing, & nothing, & anything

flit across my flesh anyway. is this compassion? beneath the flesh

was desire. shovel & bone. i wanted him to ask. i wanted my body

to be as much his body as it was my body. is this selfless? please,

google, like i’m five.

`

The body is teensy bits of cells falling apart. The heart is a clenched fist.

The lungs sit in a cavity of red. Where does it hurt?

`

hey google, it’s everywhere. thank you for asking. i crawled out

of my wide-open mouth & when he shifted across another boulevard,

when he finally, finally asked, i crawled back in. each mouthful

of clean air sucked clean out of me. tell me, google, can love kill me?

tell me google, was it close?

`

The human body is susceptible to many fatalities. Sickness, accident,

something on purpose. A human’s only natural predator is death.

`

okay google, but i’m asking about love.

`

Love’s natural predator is also death.

`

okay google but what if he left when my heart was mid-riot? what then?

`

I’m sorry I don’t understand. Please try rephrasing your question.

`

google, what if his love was a zoo full of every warm beast

i ever wished for & shouldn’t have?

`

I’m sorry I don’t understand. Would you like to know more

about animals?

`

hey google, what if after him my heart became an animal

someone intends to slaughter? god, for months when i spoke

of belonging, i spoke only of him. google, do you see?

google, should i call him?

`

I’m sorry I don’t understand. Are you looking for something biblical?

`

hey google, maybe. what is divine intervention anyway?

my fingers won’t stop scraping at his exit wounds & maybe

something’s gotta be done. is there a patron saint for the ghosts

who don’t die? does he live in me? does he know if it was love, this

bright & unruly thing made out of my heart? does he want to know

where it hurts? tell him it’s everywhere, it’s everywhere.

love poems

About the Creator

Ayva M

is a queer Black poet living in California. You can find her at home, trying desperately to keep her plants alive.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Joe Patterson3 days ago

    Well done.

Ayva MWritten by Ayva M

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.