Poets logo

Pancake (verb) -

a prose poem

By Ayva MPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
Runner-Up in the Smooth Challenge
5
DALL-E generated image

my mother is talking & talking & the café is humming & something smells like strawberries & honey & I think it’s the waitress & she’s speaking & I open my mouth & almost forget how to form pancake/all I can conjure is brown & smooth & warm & sweet in my mouth & how can I look my mother in the eye & nod & laugh & pretend like pancake is not the casualty of yr hands & act like yr hands never turned me over wild & waiting for hungry lips & made molasses of my spine last night & it was only last night & now it’s breakfast & she has no idea/I sit cross-legged proper lady/like my knees were never river-wide & wanting & like yr knees are unknowable to me & I am almost proud of myself/I am nothing short of masterful /sitting here/modest & behaving like I can’t feel you thrumming through the seat of my chair/sitting here & sipping tea & adding sugar & stirring & stirring & my fingers tire/but remember how my fingers split you clean apart & remember how morning arrived on our backs & in-between our together & too soon & is there a word for that/for the lift and separate of griddle bones to let the slow syrup spill spread sticky limbs into all that brown & smooth & warm & sweet & if so I’ve never heard it/or else it would sound something like a shutting door & a jangle of keys & a café’s hum/or else it would smell something like strawberries & honey/or else it would look something like good girl hemline & a sip of tea & a smile at a waitress & a glance at my mother who is talking & talking & talking & talking & my tongue somewhere else entirely.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Ayva M

is a queer Black poet living in California. You can find her at home, trying desperately to keep her plants alive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Zara Blume5 months ago

    Oh my goodness! That’s incredibly sexy writing, my favorite thing I read for this challenge. Congratulations on your placement. It’s nice to see I’m not the only one who wrote something naughty, and I’m so glad the judges recognize how exceptional this is.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.