Poets logo

Womb to Winter: A Journey of Life's Seasons

For Sam the Doula's challenge

By DaphsamPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
Womb to Winter: A Journey of Life's Seasons
Photo by Aditya Romansa on Unsplash

I read the beautiful poem by Sam the Doula and her challenge. It called out to me to write my own poem of my first experience with my daughter, my first child.

Curled in my womb,

For long past,

When you were due, yet at last,

Two days after New Year’s Eve boom.

********************

It all started at dawn,

A little show of pink.

It was time we think,

Head to the hospital with a yawn.

********************

Then you decided to stay,

Not leave my womb that day.

Oh no, but we have started today,

You finally changed your mind, you were on the way.

*********************

Long and unsure,

Stuck in a position that wasn’t working,

Drugs were given, no way to do this pure,

I was doing my part, I wasn’t shirking.

***********************

Time passed like a clock,

With no hands.

Finally, a tiny hand emerged, said by the doc.

You waved as if you already had fans.

**********************

In a Wonder Woman pose,

Was all we needed to know.

A story of strength would grow,

You are the epitome of a rose.

***********************

Large and pink,

With a shock of dark walnut hair,

And delicate little nose and eyes that would dare.

You were an energetic little mink.

************************

We came together in a feverish embrace.

My young arms trembled,

I held you so gentle,

My heart was full of peaceful grace.

************************

I hugged you ,

As my womb was pushed,

From my body, I felt ambushed,

All of these pains were so new.

*************************

Your home became echos,

From my stretched uterus.

************************

Our brief interlude,

Was fast and abrupt,

Worries from green scrubs disrupt,

The loving, get to know you mood.

*************************

Temperatures taken,

Scrambling and whispers,

A cold feeling of shivers,

A dark ominous descends, leaving me shaken.

***************************

I am sent to my hospital room,

You to the ICU,

Skin to skin contact not with you,

From joyous to doom and gloom.

**************************

We came together,

I in a yellow scrub gown,

You in a plastic ICU Incubator with a frown,

All of our moods were as dark as the winter weather.

****************************

A week later,

We brought you home,

Small slate blue eyes were set to roam,

You didn't want me, reached for your Papou, you little traitor.

***********************

Our connection,

Is so strong, like the North Star.

Even if our first meeting didn’t live up to par,

My devotion to you has never change directions.

***********************

Never did I have a clue,

That 25 years later, when I first held you,

My newborn daughter who grew and grew,

Would be the same day, I would hold on

To bid farewell to my dad, your Papou.

love poemssad poetryinspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Oh, that ending! A lovely and poignant story. Love this line: "You waved as if you already had fans."

  • Marguerita Tan7 months ago

    Lovely! Loved the "Wonder Woman pose" line. I truly imagined your daughter emerging like WW coming up from the trenches! LOL! Love the bittersweet ending too.

  • Xine Segalas7 months ago

    Wow - amazing.

  • Courtanae Heslop7 months ago

    🌟 Wow, Daphne! Your heartfelt poem about your first experience with your daughter is an absolute masterpiece! 🌈✨ I was captivated by each stanza, feeling the emotions, the challenges, and the overwhelming love you poured into every word. 📜💖 Your vivid storytelling painted a beautiful picture of that transformative moment, from the anticipation to the joyous arrival of your little one. 🤰🎉 The Wonder Woman pose and the imagery of your newborn daughter as an "energetic little mink" are pure poetry! 🌸💕 I'm genuinely curious, did you find inspiration from specific poets or experiences while crafting this moving piece? 🤔✨ It's evident that this poem holds such deep personal significance, and the connection you share with your daughter shines through every line. 🌟💗 The raw honesty in recounting the challenges, from the ICU to the emotional rollercoaster, adds layers of authenticity to your story. 🏥🌧️ Your resilience and unwavering love throughout this journey are truly inspiring. 💪❤️ And what a poignant ending, with the bittersweet twist of bidding farewell to your dad, your daughter's Papou, 25 years later. 🌌👨‍👧‍👧 The circle of life beautifully portrayed through your words, connecting the past and the present. 🔄💔 Thank you for sharing this intimate and powerful piece. It's a reminder that even amidst challenges, love remains the guiding force. 🌹📝 Can't wait to read more of your work! 🌟💖

  • "You waved as if you already had fans". I loved that line a lot! Your poem was so touching and wonderful!

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.