Poets logo

A Tightrope of Insanity

Rain Washed Chalk

By Poppy Published 11 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
8
Image Created by Midjourney

“People change.” But it’s always the best ones who shed their soft skin, hardening as candle wax does.

I was used to seeing the back of her, used to placing my shoes in her footprints as she went from one thing to the next like a bee and her flowers. Which is to say, I should have been prepared when I saw the last of her.

I was not.

I tracked her problems as if they were stars and I was an astronomer, marking out the constellations. It drove me to a tightrope titled ‘insanity’, and I knew I could simply step to the ground and its safety, but the fall was further for her and I couldn’t leave her walking that fine line alone.

There was a voice screaming in my head, you can’t survive this, but what choice did I have? I was chained down by the debt of a hospital bed. She’d healed me and healed me and healed me and how could I leave her when she should’ve been swallowing painkillers and instead she was injecting herself with denial?

When the tightrope became my noose, it seemed almost as if she was simply glad she was no longer stuck stumbling along it like a puppet. I was bidding goodbye to breath and hope but not her. Never her.

And then.

And then.

And then she disappeared.

But not before ripping out my stitches and washing her hands of my blood. I think her conscience might be as empty as my life without her.

All the words are worthless, washed away like chalk in rain, vanishing like she did. All the words are meaningless except one.

Why?

But she cares about that question as much as she cares about me, which is to say, not at all.

You scour the page for a happy ending and I search for closure. Neither finds what we’re looking for.

❀❀❀❀❀

Please check out more of my work:

sad poetryheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    The heartache. The pain. The ever so visceral imagery.

  • Gosh this was so emotional! Brilliant work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.