Poets logo

A Shell of a Man

The closing of his heart

By Colleen Millsteed Published 9 months ago β€’ 2 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

He walked by the side of the one that held his true destiny

Cupped between the palms of her hands and nestled within her heart,

Eyes for no other, dreaming of his future, welcoming the years to come,

Happiness the perfect escape from beneath his tortured start.

πŸ’œ

He rides the waves of desire from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows,

Experiencing a journey of a lifetime within the minutes of each day,

Pride glowed from his reawakened heart, eyes glistened with joy,

As the sun and moon shone upon his adoration for the world to display.

πŸ’œ

Perfection in the shape of his dreams, answering his questions once asked,

Gifting him in abundance, treasures of perfection at last,

Worthy of the flight from stagnation to waltz the stairway to his glory,

For this one love that he never believed he’d find would be in his in contrast.

πŸ’œ

Until the day he shattered, the day he watched her saunter from his life,

Shocked by the disintegration that happened between the two,

Waiting with bated breath, praying for her return,

Knowing deep within his soul that she’d made the decision that cut him through.

πŸ’”

From that day forward he wandered the land of the living,

Remembering nothing as he roamed through life in a complete daze,

Everything a blur of fogginess, an unimportant aspect of monotony,

Nothing gave his life meaning, his heart now dead and blasΓ©.

πŸ’”

This broken husk of a human being was a lost soul of society,

The world taken from the sheltered agony in which he now partook,

He’d play the game of selfish love as the need sometimes arose,

But the key to his heart was buried under granite as he became a closed book.

πŸ’”

This autopilot of the mundane trekked the valleys of the lonely,

Surviving but no longer living, lost in the harrowing halls of hell,

Battered, broken, warily ostracised, alone in his wandering,

No longer a caring human but a cruelly cold living shell.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry β€” it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves β€” I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    I like this , there are times I feel like a cold living shell

  • This was so sad. My heart broke for him. Such an emotional poem my friend and I loved it!

  • Did I enjoy this piece, Colleen? No. I was smitten by it, a blow right between the two lobes of my heart. By flipping the genders so as not to be too spot on for yourself (I presume), you hit me straight between the eyes. You have captured the essence of heartbreak extremely well here, Colleen.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.