Poets logo

The Foolishness of a Wasted Heart

The depths it cries over the years

By Colleen Millsteed Published 9 months ago 2 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I languish in a place that holds my shattered heart within its bosom,

Riding the torture of beautiful memories and stalemate goodbyes,

A bittersweet smile graces my face as I run the gauntlet of yesteryears,

A poignant titter of laughter as my eyes weep heavily with its cries.

💔

The bird calls a reminder of the quietness of a far off riverbank,

The sun waking a couple of lovers as they open their eyes to the dawn of day,

The barking of a crocodile near the waters edge a crystal clear reminder

Of the danger that lurks within the perfection of peace as they lay.

💔

The heat of the sun’s rays turning her hair into a golden halo,

As the casting of a throw net flings ocean drops far and wide,

A necklace torn from her neck in a mixture of elation and disappointment,

Never to be found as it tumbles into the cresting waves to hide.

💔

The scent of fish frying in a shallow bottomed frypan, aromatic to their nose,

The delight of the hunter gatherer as he feeds her delicious morsels from his fingertips,

Pride shining in her eyes at this glorious man of spontaneous love,

A chance meeting on a fine summer day remembered by the joining of their lips.

💔

The breeze cools a sunburnt skin as she mellows within her dreams,

As her carefree laughter tinkles to the adoration of a single touch,

My eyes glaze over at that memory as the dreams vanish into the past,

Happiness remembered and held in reverence of the memories that I clutch.

💔

The crunch of the sand under my toes raises the sensation of travelling in time,

The lapping of the ocean waves cooling my heated feet, soothing my cries,

The sunsetting on the past as I allow the pain to circulate once again,

As a reminder of the beauty that I held before the memory folds and dies.

💔

Tracking the sensations and electric pulses that bleed from my broken heart,

A reminder that life is harder than we envisioned at the height of our glorious youth,

Now as age sets in, with the wisdom that life is shorter than we ever believed,

I’m hit with the realisation that there’s no hiding from the painful truth.

💔

We will forever miss the days of wasted love and the torment of selfish actions,

They’ll haunt us throughout the days as precious memories and sordid gain,

Bashing us bloody in retribution, year after year, there’ll be no escape,

For a heart that has a habit of loving too deeply, will always be wrecked with the resulting pain.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Ah, this felt very bittersweet, especially that last line. And speaking of crocodiles, there still is one more part remaining in Wittle Pwig's story, right?

  • Is it loving too deeply or loving too desperately that wrecks the heart? It seems to me that loving deeply breaks the heart as it watches the beloved harming themselves. Loving/Wanting desperately breaks the heart when it can't have what it wants.

  • Riding the torture of beautiful memories and stalemate goodbyes-Deep😉📝❤️👌💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.