Poets logo

A SCRAMBLED MIND

Fake Friends

By Jay LoganPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
5
A SCRAMBLED MIND
Photo by Hans-Peter Gauster on Unsplash

I tend to always find myself being asked same question on different Occasions. "What do you want?"

A very simple question without a doubt Yet so difficult to give an answer that's stout Most times my retort is to please the cynic Still I get fucked, ending up in the heart clinic


I unconsciously try to please everyone first
Without a second thought bout my wants yet
I do that because I feel I'll adapt eventually
A lil change for a friend to end a day happily
But in the end, like a fool I'm treated
My sacrifices thrown down the toilet and flushed

After my last visit to the heart clinic with a huge cut
I asked myself "what do you really want?"

Now I know I ain't no Saint
I've got my flaws and stains
But all I want is a friend who values me
One who shows the world my worth to see

A backbone that still has my back irrespective of whatever differences
But most especially, a true friend who reads my energy and reciprocates
Gets mad at me when I'm wrong, but in the end, holds no grudges

Life's about to get rough in a few
I pray I find the strength to keep it together like glue
May Yaweh show me the right path with clues
So my scrambled mind would withstand every tribulation like the Jews.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • chidebe ogechukwu11 months ago

    I think I love this piece more❤️

  • Lylah Tremblay11 months ago

    Yeah I totally agree, we all need real friends that are keepers

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.