Poets logo

You Will See Me Smile That Day

When you send me on my way

By Jowie EspirituPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
2

You will see me smile that day

and you will see that within my heart

there is no sadness

that tries to cast a shadow

over my almost lovely days

and fill my life with madness

that drives my mind to wallow

in the utmost lonely ways

of masking my grief

with fake smiles and laughters

while my broken soul

is asking for brief moments

of consolation as it shatters

into fragments, into oblivion

for my smiles never reflect

the eyes that feed

the springs of tears

and make the heavens bleed

as if God never hears

the laughters that never deflect

the echoing sighs within my breath

knowing that each day

brings me closer to my death

and as you see me smile that day

when you send me on my way

to eternal bliss

will you send me a kiss

or a hug so warm

to keep me safe

and away from harm

or sing me a song

as you send me to sleep

and smile for me

and never weep

and as you stand

before my final resting place

bring flowers in your hands

but wear no sorrow on your face

for when you send me on my way

you will see me smile

that day.

Copyright ©️ 2023 by Jowie Espiritu

sad poetryheartbreakElegy
2

About the Creator

Jowie Espiritu

I write to give myself a chance to express what I can't say out loud--- my own version of therapy that heals my wounded inner child.

I have 4 Poetry Books published on Amazon, copy this link to view my author profile. https://amzn.to/4dj6uDS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran21 days ago

    So poignantly beautiful. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.