Poets logo

A Scapegoat's Anthem

A Sister Poem to the ‘Dear Narcissist’ Series

By Poppy Published 7 months ago 1 min read
15
Image Created on Midjourney

I know what it looks like

But this poem is not for you

I once handed you

The kind of validation

You didn’t deserve

“Yes, you are a good person”

“No, you are not selfish”

I once tied lies

Like bows in your hair

Bit my tongue and

Swallowed the blood

Smiled at you instead

Of leaving for me

This poem is not for you

I tried not to blame you

For the shadow that

Hid me from view but

You were basking in

My invisibility like

The stars revel in

The sun’s absence

This poem is not for you

You wrapped me in

Equations of accusations

That didn’t add up

Wrote my name

On your wounds

Even after I cleaned them

And silently let you pour

Poison into my own

(It wouldn’t have mattered

If I screamed; nobody was listening)

This poem isn’t for you

A person can only

Hold onto a fraying rope

For so long

A person can only

Hold back from looking down

Until the ground is

Racing up to meet them

I tried all I could try

Made myself small in

As many ways as I knew how

Carved myself up in

As many tiny pieces

As I could

I sacrificed my dignity

For far longer than

Any person should

Vomited up the truth

And then tossed dirt over it

So many times that my throat burned

This poem is not for you

I understand now

I should not have stayed

A second after you

Blamed me for

How I was hurting

I deserve better than

A person who sharpens

My vulnerabilities into a knife

This poem is for me

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem, you might also like:

fact or fiction
15

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Hi Poppy ~ Whew, how could I have missed your gorgeous presentations. *As I scroll through them I've subscribed with pleasure. I'm just a retired legal writer morphed into a self-described 'Goof-Writer' nothing more. But, I so appreciate your 'Original' work; a novelty of late. Permission to speak freely? Although I think it's wonderful to see you have a huge following, I'm thinking perhaps I haven't checked you out before because I was turned off by your Handle? 'Poppy' - since I'm not a poetry guy - I just assumed you were just a Poet - but I see I was certainly mistaken about that at 1st blush now seeing such an eclectic assortment of fabulous offerings. Sorry, If I've offended you or invaded your privacy in any way - I've about had it with the atta-boy network of emojis. I like to know why someone reads-me or not. Probably out of curiosity if nothing else. Most of us often wonder when we select a 'Topic' how will people perceive this piece. What they get out of my reads, and why. - With my Respect -  'j' Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Rowan Finley 6 months ago

    This is the one I did awhile back. https://vocal.media/poets/scapegoat-husband

  • Rowan Finley 6 months ago

    Great job. I wrote something similar to this one from a male perspective. I really enjoy the way you think and write. Thank you for sharing such a vulnerable part of our soul here. That takes great boldness and powerful wild abandon of pride. It goes to show that you’ve healed tremendously from past traumas.

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    A person can only Hold onto a fraying rope For so long What a STUNNING verse! Well done on this Poppy! Very well done!

  • My favourite part was our vulnerabilities being sharpened into a knife. That was so relatable! And also how they blame us for how we are hurting. Loved this poem!

  • Kelsey Clarey7 months ago

    This is such a beautiful and powerful poem!

  • You wrapped me in Equations of accusations That didn’t add up ✨🤍 Something about this I really love. Equations of accusations. 🕊️🙏 Such a beautiful line! This poem feels like it should go on the tombstone of my marriage and divorce … it’s very very apt xx

  • "Sisters, sisters, there were never such devoted sisters." (My wife's & sister-in-law's theme song.) Are there ever two more devoted to each other than the narcissist & their victim? Until the victim takes a stand & reclaims themselves.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Powerful!!! Loved it, Poppy!!!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great poem! You do deserve better!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.