Poets logo

White

Your True Colours

By Poppy Published 8 months ago 1 min read
16
White
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

An absence.

The way you were completely devoid of passion, and how that detachment eventually drained my fervour too.

The colour you dunked your whole body in, after you left. It clung to your hair and covered up the pastel of your laughter and the neon of your love.

The moon lamenting with me every night and disappearing every day (like you did), but coming back (like you didn’t).

The glinting knife of happiness plastered across your face, seemingly designed to make me bleed.

You, burying my pain in the nearest soft soil, letting the snowflakes fall in layers over it. Me, plunging your happiness into my eyes, crying tears of blood - red drops on pristine white.

The silence you wrapped around my throat because you knew I craved closure more than I ever needed you.

The apathy spread across your face like ashes.

My closure, found in the shades of the past; in the way you treated me.

My closure - the realisation that I never needed it, I just thought I did. And really, you weren’t keeping anything from me, just showing your true colours (or lack thereof).

❀❀❀❀❀

The Prompt:

My Other Poems Written For It:

sad poetrynature poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
16

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Brilliant addition! This felt so hopeful!

  • Beautifully written… I trust you move on to fresh, vibrantly coloured friendships.

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Raw, emotional and cuts to the quick of the soul, every word is like the blade of a knife. Healing from narcissism is crazy hard.

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    "The colour you dunked your whole body in, after you left. It clung to your hair and covered up the pastel of your laughter and the neon of your love. The moon lamenting with me every night and disappearing every day (like you did), but coming back (like you didn’t)." Just amazing imagery, Poppy, as always. My new favorite? Perhaps. I am loving your color and long line poems so much!! Every line of this is fantastic. Love how this one transitions into the violent metaphor of a knife cutting, drops of red on pristine white (ha, that sounds familiar!). Your personification of this color is deftly rendered.

  • C. Rommial Butler7 months ago

    This reminds me of weeping with someone in our arms who just doesn't hold us back. Are they waiting for only the moment to end, or would they rather it was us that faded into the blank page forever? Well-wrought!

  • The glinting knife of happiness plastered across your face, seemingly designed to make me bleed. This line resonated so deeply with me! I also loved how their true colour is the lack of colours. That was so brilliant!

  • Not even shades of gray, much less 50 of them. Nope, don't need it.

  • I love the symbolism hidden in your words. "The apathy spread across your face like ashes" made me think of Ash Wednesday and how people wear their faith spread across their face with ashes.

  • That line about letting the snowflakes fall over it, was so precious - delicate and hauntingly melancholy. This was my favourite line xx 🤍🕊️✨

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    so emotional, Poppy...this is beautiful work. ❤❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.