Poets logo

A Rough Draft of My Life

Chapter 1

By Kerri MiLLsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Rough Draft of My Life
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I sit here, in my chair,

like the cat perched on the window ledge he stars.

He stars out of the 4 square window, he stares at the snow covered ground,

the dead trees of winter, the swaying lets you know they're alive.

He stares as I stare in a gaze out my own window, I stare.

I stare, squatted, dazed, I stare.

At the life that could have been, I stare.

Purr, little kitten, come back off that ledge.

Come into the light of day the cense glows.

It's not too bad in here. You can be free.

Purr little kitten. He sits on his ledge.

Staring, gazing, always staring, into the light he sees

he sees me. Me. He sees me coming, purr.

Come here little kitty.

Come down off that ledge. Purr.

The light glows as the cold, winter days pass us by.

Purr.

art
Like

About the Creator

Kerri MiLLs

*Love thyself*

#CapeBretonrProud

“Ooo baby, baby it’s a wild world” ❤️😉

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.