Poets logo

A Restful Night

In your arms

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
A Restful Night
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

As soon as my eyes open, I turn to look at you, fast asleep oh so peacefully. I smile and then pull myself up to make your morning meal before you leave for work.

Just as I sit up and stretch on the edge of the bed, I feel you stir, and then without a moment’s waste, having noticed that I’m up, you quickly drag yourself to my side and wrap your arms around my waist.

You groan. “Don’t go,” you whisper.

I laugh. I cave because who could ever say no to sleeping in for a bit more?

You let go of your grip on my waist but just as swiftly grab my wrist and then scuttle back to your side. I turn around with your gentle pull.

We lie down, on our sides, looking at each other with gentle curves on the sides of our lips. I can resist no more. I inch closer to your bare chest - bare except for the rug-like blanket of hair covering it. I often would joke to you about it - your hairy chest - referring to it as my kryptonite. It could never turn me away.

You wait for me to come closer and then slowly run your hand down my back and pull me into yourself. We lie there for what seems like an eternity, listening to each other’s calm breathing that has now synced. I look up at you and smile. You look down and kiss my forehead.

And then we sleep again. A dreamless cloud like rest, unknown of the decision of the creators - whether to let us rise again or not.

FamilyProselove poemsFree Verse

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Archery Owl5 months ago

    Such a beautiful moment

  • Sid Aaron Hirji5 months ago

    interesting poetry style

  • Awww, this was so SO sweet! It made me smile! 🙈❤️

  • Simply sublime, Manisha.

Manisha DhalaniWritten by Manisha Dhalani

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.