Poets logo

Am I Yours?

A daughter's questions

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 3 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
11
Am I Yours?
Photo by Brittani Burns on Unsplash

Many a men say

I take after you

But you don't seem to agree

To you

I'm just another disappointment

Another daughter you wish was a son

But I wasn't born with hanging parts

I still try, though

To make up for the loss

Although most of the time

I'm not even sure what the loss is though

Maybe my efforts are futile

You keep telling others you have no hope in me

Even though they keep telling you that I am your only hope

Possibly

Whatever they say

Whatever you think

Know that I still have hope

That one day

You will see

That I'm the only light that shines

In the deep dark tunnel

Of your life.

sad poetryheartbreakFree VerseFamily
11

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 months ago

    A beautiful sad set of words

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Oh, this is sad, and I hope it isn't autobiographical!

  • People who only want sons and not daughters do not deserve to have children. Simple as that. Loved your poem. Hope you're okay. Sending you lots of love and hugs โค๏ธ

  • I pray this is not the reality you endure in your life but are able to see in others (though I would pray it not be there, either). Prayers & blessings to you & yours, & please know you could never be a disappointment to those of us who care. We may hurt for you, but never abandon you.

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Oh. Nicely done. ** Children need to live their lives for themselves, not others. We all search for approval, but one day, you realize you don't need the approval - AND then you are FREE.๐Ÿ†“โฃ๏ธ

  • Huan Huan 3 months ago

    Awww, this is so relatable to think about the father-daughter relationship

  • So true ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.