Poets logo

A Pure Soul

The Way They Soothe You

By Shaye GoodenoughPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

A touch as soft as velvet, caressing all your doubt

The tune of dawn's birdsong when you've woken up worn out

The smell of cookies baking, chocolate melting in the air

The taste of Mum's homemade stew when winter's nearly there

These things all make me fuzzy, and feel slightly warm inside

They bring me comfort in a way, and put my fears aside

But nothing will ever compare to holding you close and tight

For when the nights are long and the days are dark, my darling you're my light

Your warmth and energy radiate way beyond your skin

The sight of you in my arms brings comfort to me within

Your soft and rounded cheeks that move slightly when you smile

The tinkle in your laughter makes me want to pause a while

And bask in all your beauty, my proudest creation

The one that changed my life for good, the best adaptation

The littlest things give the best hugs so I was always told

And I can attest that holding you is worth more to me than gold

Nothing brings me comfort like watching you fall asleep

As your head falls heavy on my chest, you don't need to count sheep

I wipe your tears and sooth your cries, and rock you when you ache,

You're the last thing that I see at night and the first thing when I wake

I wouldn't change it for the world, my pride, my joy, my son

As the way you soothe my soul is comparable to none

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Shaye Goodenough

I want to improve people's knowledge and awareness of mental health. I love good food, good company and good music. I'm into anime, movies, gaming, singing, poetry and baking.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.