Poets logo

The Mirror

It tells lies.

By Shaye GoodenoughPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I look in the mirror, I don’t see what I want to see,

I see a stranger staring back at me,

It scares me to know that it’s my reflection,

My past is in my eyes, in every direction,

The way that girl stares back,

Makes me wonder if I know who I am at all, cut me some slack,

Grown up being denied, feeling unwanted,

It’s how I’ve always felt, and now I see why no one wants me,

The eyes of the girl are a haze,

Glazed over in a fury, mind like a maze,

She can’t think straight, thoughts all over the place,

She thinks she’s alright, but she isn’t, she’s misplaced,

She needs to leave, but can’t find the will,

Something’s holding her back, making her ill,

I look up again and see something different,

A salty drop running down her cheek, she’s stopped being ignorant,

Fury turned to tears as she lets it all go,

Her body slumps forward and stops the flow,

The mirror tells lies; it plays with your eyes,

As I realise there’s nothing wrong with me at all, I just needed to cry.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shaye Goodenough

I want to improve people's knowledge and awareness of mental health. I love good food, good company and good music. I'm into anime, movies, gaming, singing, poetry and baking.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.