Poets logo

A Prayer At The Gate

A Villanelle For A Vocal Social Society Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
14
The Gate To The Memorial Garden in Hulne Park Alnwick

Introduction

This is for a Vocal Social Society Prompt that you can see and enter here.

I didn't think I had taken a picture of the Hulne Park Memorial Garden Gate then I found this, the more you look at it the more you see.

One birthday present that I got from Fiona was the latest album by Polly Jean Harvey "I Inside The Old Year Dying" and the opening song is "Prayer At The Gate" so obviously the two are meant to go together.

I wasn't sure what form to take but I will choose a villanelle.

A Prayer At The Gate

πŸ¦πŸŒ³πŸ¦ˆπŸ•ŠοΈπŸ¦‹πŸ¦…πŸŸπŸŒ²πŸ¦‰

If I Say A Prayer At Your Gate

Will You Share Your Secrets With Me?

I'll Say My Prayer And I Will Wait

πŸŒœπŸŒ»πŸŒ›

Crescent Moon, The Badge Of Estate

Wind Blowing The Bending Tree

If I Say A Prayer At Your Gate

πŸŒœπŸŒ»πŸŒ›

The Wise Owl Lands, Presides In State

The Tree Of Gold Waits There For Me

I'll Say My Prayer And I Will Wait

πŸŒœπŸŒ»πŸŒ›

Skull And Crossbones, Drowned Pirate

A Watching Crow, Fish Swims Free

If I Say A Prayer At Your Gate

πŸŒœπŸŒ»πŸŒ›

Will The Fruit Of Prayer My Thirst Sate?

'Neath The Boughs Of That Golden Tree

I'll Say My Prayer And I Will Wait

πŸŒœπŸŒ»πŸŒ›

Crescent Moons Flank Me As I Wait

This Garden Gate Reveals To Me

If I Say A Prayer At Your Gate

I'll Say My Prayer And I Will Wait

πŸ¦πŸŒ³πŸ¦ˆπŸ•ŠοΈπŸ¦‹πŸ¦…πŸŸπŸŒ²πŸ¦‰

nature poetryinspirational
14

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Mike, this is absolutely beautiful. Well done!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Beautifully smooth refrain, prayerful tone of hope and expectation. Nice work again!

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer8 months ago

    Lovely 😍

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    lovely, Mike

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Very nice.

  • This is a beautiful Villanelle, a very fitting and vivid tribute to such a spectacular scene. Well done, Mike! This deserves to be a Top Story, for sure.

  • You know what, you're right! The more we look at the photo, the more things we see. Also, my mind entered the gutter as soon as I started reading the poem, lol. I kept picturing something else as gate! 🀣🀣🀣🀣 But it was a lovely poem!

  • Praying & waiting. Patient hope without despair. Trusting, even when no answer is forthcoming. Faithful in all, through all.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great picture! Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.