Poets logo

a new era

inspired by the In Eclipse challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
11
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

'Easy like Sunday morning', that's what Lionel

crooned to me, where loving you means

leaving you, cos we can never be.

I'm gonna be okay though, newly right as rain,

people-pleasing days swept to the past,

soul searching for my other half again–the

era of 'me' ushered in on hopeful refrain.

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading!

This piece was inspired by the wonderful song, Easy, performed by Lionel Richie and The Commodores. I've always loved this one. And of course, Lionel could sing a phone book (or a contacts list nowadays?, lol) and I'd listen.

For your listening pleasure :)

https://youtu.be/0XRrYgByp28?si=kWwDFvJpO6EkEpxX

~

You can read all of my In Eclipse challenge entries so far in this compilation post!

love poemsinspirationalBalladAcrostic
11

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred14 days ago

    Not my favourite song that he was involved in ("Nightshift" and Machine Gun" are the ones I love) , excellent poem for the challenge

  • Omgggg, his voice is so soothing! Your Acrostic was so wonderful! I loved it!

  • Ward Norcutt15 days ago

    great last line, Heather

  • Marilyn Glover15 days ago

    Clever take on the eclipse prompt!

  • Tiffany Gordon 15 days ago

    Super duper Flyy! Go HH!

  • JBaz15 days ago

    This one truly impressed me. Total different and a feel good memory style Congratulation ( I’m saying this now)

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    Beautiful poem, my friend. Thanks for the earworm. 😁

  • I cannot believe this is the way I'm finding out that "Easy like Sunday morning" is not just a Spongebob quote but a reference to this song. Anyway, this is a beautiful poem! And now I've found a great new song!

  • Dana Crandell15 days ago

    Yeah, this is one of those songs that just had to be cranked up and sung along with, and I love the powerful stance you took with this piece. Way to go, Sis!

  • Great song paired in perfect musical form!

  • Natasha Collazo15 days ago

    era of 'me' ushered in on hopeful refrain. Loved that line

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.