Poets logo

A Neverending Wind

Arid Challenge Entry

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago β€’ Updated 5 months ago β€’ 3 min read
11
Photo by Sami Anas: https://www.pexels.com/photo/sandy-dunes-under-mist-and-sunlight-5641978/

Archeologists recently discovered this piece written by an unknown source, while excavating in the Savannah:

"I was carried on a neverending wind

Blown from north to south, east to west

From pole to pole, I was carried

No set course or destination

I was carried on a promise

Promise of changing seasons, changing plains

Through the densest forests and deepest valleys

Up the highest mountains and across the vast oceans

My journey began on a chance encounter in the vortex

And so it continued across many miles and terrains

With no end in sight

Staying only for a short time wherever I made landfall

Beautiful, entrancing places of unmatched glory

Heartbreaking, sad, war-torn lands without glory

Sacred, scenic secrets and popular, picturesque paradises

From Spring to Summer, Autumn and Winter

I travelled, explored, experienced and enjoyed

Enduring the harshest climates, both hot and cold

Feeling the sting of the frozen landscapes of Antarctica

Cleansed by the refreshing rainfall of Scotland and Seattle

Blown from here to there

Sometimes by a whisper

Often by a jet stream

Flying high above the Earth below

and low enough to feel the dirt, water, grass and concrete on my face

My travels took me through the rainforests

Where I chanced glances at the varied fauna and flora

The winds of change never stopped

Slowed right down at times

But never stopped

So slow, I could feel the breath of the people I passed in my travels

Feel their pains, their suffering, their successes, loves, losses, gains

and sometimes deaths

The winds of change never stopped

Taking me faster than eagles and planes, over volcanos active and dormant

Through city parks and concrete jungles

In the dark and the light

From sunrise to sunset

Up to the highest highs and lowest lows

Where the Earth speaks

Speaks of its own joys, sadness, loves, hates, successes and losses

Never a moment to spare, as the wind takes me here and there

That neverending wind that carries me

From pole to pole

Hemisphere to hemisphere

North to south

East to west

As I get a glimpse, a mere snapshot of life on the blue planet

Of children, men, women, all races, religions

The spirit of humanity

The evil of humanity

The good in some, bad in others

The sense of adventure, of learning

The importance of love

My travels are lessons in all of the above and so much more

Lessons in what it is to be

Alive

Present

On this world so vast and bursting

with a spectrum of colours, emotions, textures, sounds, smells and tastes

So much time is spent by so many

worrying

fighting

So many choose pain instead of pleasure

Choose hate instead of love

I know when the time comes

When my journey ends

I will cherish the memories

Of the adventure

The neverending winds have taken me on

Through lands of green, waters so blue

Through many harsh and unforgiving places

Both naturally and manmade

The brightest and warmest of hearts

The darkest and coldest of minds

I've seen the overachievers, the triers

Those that prey on others, both man and beast

Those that fight for others, rights and lives

I can feel the wind is slowing down

It's leading me to my final destination

The journey's drawing to a close

The adventure's nearing it's end

My life, will be but a memory in the wind

Soon

Time is never enough

Time is always short

Time, though, is what you make of it

Time, can work to your favour

Use time well

Explore

...

Engulfed in the desert's parched silence, I was nothing but another grain of sand in the wind

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Probably the last entry to the Arid Challenge, which you can read more about below...wanted to try something a little different.

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
11

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    This one almost sobered me up. Like D I too love that you took a different approach through verse! Brilliant. Liked the feel of it and the idea of exploring everything like a little kid, like we all should be in life! Beautiful work and another inspiring poem too! I’ve written something in verse, like a mini story too but it’s not edited.. not for arid.. just similar vein to what I’d been writing about recently. Where are you up to now with your long form epistolary narrative?

  • Whoaaaaa! Sir Paul, this blew my mind! I love the direction you went with! It was very profound, poetic and Paulitical!! 🍩πŸ₯

  • Ruth Stewart5 months ago

    You old wind bag! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

  • Beautiful.

  • Celia in Underland5 months ago

    This is beautifully done "Sometimes by a whisper. Often by a jet stream" Loved this lines particularly 🀍

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Another masterpiece from the pen of the Poet. I enjoyed the adventure and the break form the norm on interpreting the prompt. Well done, pal!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    great entry idea! well written

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    An entire spectrum. Very good. Fyi there's a typo in line 6.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.