Poets logo

A Love That Died

Saying Goodbye

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3

There’s so much anger inside.

So much pain lingering.

To many broken promises.

~

For now, I’m hurt.

My feelings and emotions feel obsolete.

I loved you.

I gave you every part of me.

It feels like you used me.

Like I was never a part of your life.

Just a trophy,

Picked up, dusted off, and placed back on the shelf.

~

I’m sick from the inside out.

I’m exhausted.

I just want to rest.

It’s so hard to say goodbye.

There was so much time invested in you.

~

One of the hardest lessons learned…

It took until I was breaking,

To learn to believe in myself,

To learn to count on me,

To not Hate myself.

To take that first look in the mirror and remember who I am.

~

I can’t escape this bitter feeling.

I can’t take away the need to fight.

Trying to hold back my anger,

And focus on the memories that made me happy.

This is one of the hardest times…

To break down and say goodbye.

Free Versesad poetry
3

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Very relatable! Well written!

  • This was so heartbreaking 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.