Poets logo

A Life in 25 Lines

Reflecting on my 25th birthday

By Kay HusnickPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
38
A Life in 25 Lines
Photo by Giu Vicente on Unsplash

Hello, world.

I'm learning you exist,

learning I exist,

and I am happy,

but you keep changing.

I'm not sure I can keep up.

The other kids are mean,

and I'm hiding from you in books these days.

I dream of elsewhere.

I'm making friends, but I feel alone.

"Can you have depression at 11?"

I think I need help.

I know I need help.

"Mom, I don't want to be alive anymore."

What if I bury myself in a to do list?

What if I bury myself in a boy?

What if I move to Cleveland?

I didn't have friends before, but I do now.

Hello again, world. Aren't you full of possibilities?

I'm going to be a writer.

What if I move to New York?

What does it take to put a life on pause?

What does it mean to love someone?

What if they leave?

What if I'm exactly where I'm supposed to be right now?

inspirational
38

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Joseph N.8 months ago

    "What does it mean to love someone?" is a question that I am still searching for the answer.

  • Atomic Historian8 months ago

    Excellent!! And the last line encapsulates one of life’s harshest realities. No matter how bad it is, sometimes we’re exactly where we’re supposed to be

  • Thank you for sharing your life with us so far

  • Ashley Pushkin8 months ago

    These words express a mix of hope, confusion, and struggle. Faces the challenges of growing up, feeling isolated, and seeking purpose. They contemplate various coping mechanisms, but the underlying desire for connection and a sense of belonging shines through. Ultimately, it's a poignant exploration of youth and self-discovery.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    These are the questions we all ask ourselves. Your imagery is fantastic and I like the form this took! Top Storyville? Of course! ;)

  • Sugan Ya 8 months ago

    Nice written , relatable to me . I love it.. Congrats 🤝...

  • Missclicked8 months ago

    completely relatable thoughts! happy belated birthday and congratulations on top story!

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    So sweet! Really enjoyed this poem, Kay.

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    This was a very touching poem :) I'm glad you ended it on a hopeful note, even though it's a little bittersweet. "I'm making friends, but I feel alone" hit especially hard since it's been my whole life. A very well-deserved top story :)

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This is just beautiful writing. Your last line is so important in your life but only time will tell. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    Very good!! I love your honesty

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    So relatable

  • Nice💖😉✨✌️Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    I remember turning 25 and having a lot of the same thoughts. I love the hopeful note you ended this poem on - for me at least, life kept getting better! Happy birthday, here's to many more.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Wow, some of the same thoughts I've had! Well done and congrats on top story!

  • Congratulation on a well deserved top story. I absolutely love the impact of the final line after the build up… great work ✨🫶✨🫶✨

  • Sarah D8 months ago

    sounds alot like me ... Read mine? https://vocal.media/fiction/fuchsia-and-her-podcast

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.