Poets logo

A letter to my teen

I miss you

By Heather HublerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
13

all I want to say is

I

miss

you.

*

all I want to do is

hold you

in my arms and

kiss away all your fears.

*

just for a little while;

it's been so long.

*

I miss being the first person

you run to with good news.

I miss being the last one to

say goodnight.

*

I miss just hanging out,

but your room is your fortress,

your safe haven;

that's what I used to be.

*

I miss knowing everything about

your day,

now I just get a hi and bye.

*

your friends,

your sports,

your games,

your phone,

your job;

they all come before me now.

*

mommy has changed to mom.

*

and even though my heart is breaking,

I'm still here

cheering you on,

looking out for you,

standing silently in your corner,

waiting for you to need me.

*

waiting for you to miss me back.

*

I know it's just a transition,

a learning phase,

a time for you to spread your wings.

and the adult you and I will

have something new,

and I'll love that too.

*

but there will always be a part of me

that can't help remember

your chubby cheeks,

your innocent smile,

dirt on your knees,

and wild abandon in your heart;

I long for those days with you.

*

I know they're in the past

and I know I need to move forward;

I just want to move forward with you.

*

no matter if I'm mother,

mommy or

mom,

I will love you–

always.

* * *

author's note: if you can relate to this in any way, I feel for you–hang in there. I cried the entire time I wrote this piece. I do have kids on the other side with that new normal, but gheesh, getting there is hard on a momma's heart.

heartbreak
13

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is so heartfelt and even though I don’t yet have kids, you expressed this so wonderfully, honestly, purely… that I feel like I can begin to imagine how it must feel (even though I know I can’t). I think about my mom and what she went through with my three brothers, and my heart pangs with gratitude and also with guilt. Motherhood truly must be so difficult in so many ways. Working with kids has made me ponder what it would be like for a long time. ❤️ Wonderful and emotional poem, thank you for sharing!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Lord and I cried reading it! Love, love, LOVE LOVE this one!!

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    Beautiful, warm and very special!!!!

  • Colt Henderson2 years ago

    I don't have kids, but this reminded me of my mom, full of life and healthy, when I was younger. I am currently having to take care of her. She got a form of meningitis that attacks the brain. Which is on top of her MS!

  • Melissa Steussy2 years ago

    I’m there now with a newly 13 year Old but he at least still depends on me for rides, money, and food. Which can feel empty. There’s a small amount of tenderness but I feel it slipping away for the things you mentioned. I do have a 23 year old son but he’s in another state and so it’s hard as well!! Love to you momma!!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Oh no, please don't cry 🥺 I'm single without kids, so I don't exactly know how that feels. But I'm so glad you could express your emotions through poetry

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    Beautiful, Warming, tearjerking...and exactly how I felt when my children were growing up.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Emotional, tender, heartfelt. loving it!!!

  • D-Donohoe2 years ago

    Beautiful and touching.

  • Great job. Definitely feel that one! Yes! Mom to seven, grandmother to 26, and great-grandmother to 9! Some are steps and bios. All precious in my heart. They do come back as adults. I am going to watch my two-year-old granddaughter while her mom is out of town and her dad is playing hockey! Grandma can do that and I will love it!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Sad yet beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.