Poets logo

A Dork To Remember

Inspired By Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
A Dork To Remember
Photo by Jacqueline Munguía on Unsplash

Here is a snippet of conversation I had with a writer we all know and love, and a challenge I had to follow thru with

Randy: My fear is that when my time comes, Death will have forgotten my name & not know how to find me.

Kelli: No way. You’re unforgettable

Randy: Nightmares & bad dreams usually are, lol.

Kelli: Haha dork

Randy: Ah, the title for your next masterpiece: "A Dork to Remember"!

*

Ok, here we are

a promise I must keep

I'll try not to go too far

or dig in too deep

**

We've all seen his name

with detailed messages he's left

Encouraging a change

truly caring how we felt

***

Randy surely has a way

to make you feel heard

Never has bad things to say

rarely says dirty words

**

Just one of those supporters

that never lets you down

Like virtual transporters

you can be sure he's around

*

He, Poppy, Heather and Dhar

Dana, Cathy and her crew

Will, mother, Em and more

doing those supportive things they do

**

There are so many to mention

I don't mean to leave you out

Paul, Shirley, Brenton and Daphsam

Rachel, Judey and Mike without a doubt

***

Joe, Novel, KJ and Vicki

Taking the time to comment me

also, Rick, Mark and Angie

Mr. Scott and sweet LC

**

Lamar, Grz and Dylan

I tip my hat, it's true

I will feel like a villain

If I missed a name or 2

*

But you know who you are

and the super things that you do

If this dorky poem went too far

boohoo - it's in the title

**

It's a poem about Randy

the dorky writer with the Bible

The preacher sweet as candy

delivering encouragement that's vital

For Fun

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (25)

  • Anna 5 months ago

    Congrats on TS!🥳

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Oh. My. Stars!!! This is beautiful 😍😍😍 Kelli! This! Thissss!! THIS!!! Status: Legendary *Triple wooty-woot-WOOT!*

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    Very well deserved shout-outs there. Great poem.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Well done and well deserved TS!

  • Awww, thank you so much for the shoutout! 🥰🥰🥰 Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Brenton F6 months ago

    Yay TS - well done!

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    Awww, this was so fun and thoughtful and sweet :) What a great tribute to Randy!! I'm glad you followed through. And I felt so stupidly happy that you mentioned me, thank you! You're one of a kind and an inspiration :)

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Thank you so much for the mention, Kelli, and congratulations! You did Randy proud.

  • Holly Pheni6 months ago

    Well done, it's a great community we have here.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on the TS.

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Aww this is so wholesome! And what a great person to pay tribute to. ❤️ Lovely, lovely poem, Kelli!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Aw, what a marvellous thing. And I spied my name in there...appreciate the nod...clever Kelli! Randy's a good egg, too! This was a great lot of nice fun and congrats on Top Story!

  • Leslie Writes6 months ago

    Aww, this is very sweet :)

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    I'm here with my pom-poms endorsing this wholeheartedly, Kelli. Great poem and great fanfare for a massive supporter of so many writers on here. And, dare I say it, not a bad writer either, to boot. Ra-ra Randy!

  • sleepy drafts6 months ago

    Oh, this made my heart absolutely * swell * up 💗💓💗💓 This is so beautiful, touching, and sweet.

  • Randy Baker6 months ago

    Aww. That was a sweet poem.

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    Haha, that was awesome, Kelli. Randy is the man!...The Preacher Man! Thank you for writing this. Love the inspiration behind it!

  • Awwwww, that was just too sweet, Kelli. I love it. Challenge well met.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Haha. That was great. Thanks for the shout out in your dorky poem. Well done, my friend.

  • Joe Patterson6 months ago

    For some reason I felt like the dorky writer with the Bible is me, then I saw the name Joe so that reassured it 🤣🤣🤣 great work Kelli.

  • Mark Graham6 months ago

    Way to go and thank you for all you write.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    beautiful!!! beautiful and Bravo!! Love the banter that gave you the inspiration :)

  • Jazzy 6 months ago

    You have such a gift to get all those names in a poem and make it work well

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.