Poets logo

1973

For Real Poetic's "Year 2033" Challenge

By Cathy holmesPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
35
Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

Below is my entry for RP's "Year 2033" Challenge. Here is her link. Come join in.

-------------

The year is 2033

The blazing sun shines high above me

I barely see it through the haze

The air’s been smoky for endless days

The fires burning on our west coast

Have sent toxic fumes for us to host

High in the arctic, it’s not so cold

And hasn’t been for years untold

Polar bears live on solid ground

No ice to see for miles around

Wars rage on for worlds to see

I change the channel on my TV

Of disease and famine, journalists quack

I turn it off and have a snack

I wonder how we change our fate

I wonder if it is too late

I cry for 2033

I mourn for 1973

sad poetrynature poetryfact or fiction
35

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Just now reading this! Congrats on the win!!! I can easily see this playing out in ten years. We are halfway there already! So sad...

  • 1973 certainly had its own share of problems, but I would gladly take those issues over what we appear headed toward. Well done, Cathy!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Can we ever stop killing each other. Does anyone think they will live forever. Always needing more and then dying to leave it all behind. I feel you words.

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    1973 ❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    The last good year? 😭 For me, it'll be 2015 😭

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Nice work. I hope we can change our fate! 👏

  • Jess Boyes4 months ago

    Sadly, this seems to be the direction we’re heading in. Beautifully written, Cathy.

  • So much said with delightful rhythm rhyme… “wonder how we change our fate I wonder if it is too late I cry for 2033 I mourn for 1973” … so true, we each need to act now, to try to have a positive impact on our world. 1973… my baby bro was born that year… showing my age! We moved 400 km away to another town that year… best decision made up to that point… definitely a great year for me.

  • Ah 1973, I wasn't even born yet. Good times, good times, lol! Poor polar bears. If not 2033, soon enough it's bound to happen. Loved your poem!

  • Ah, the good old days of Watergate when we thought it couldn't get any worse!

  • A glimpse of a possible dystopia

  • JBaz4 months ago

    If this happens, you will be receiving a call from me. Well done Cathy. I’ll hope for an optimistic outcome

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    I cling to the idea that in the midst of all that, I can see you still thinking of change.

  • Oh Wow! Let's pray this doesn't come to pass!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Ouuuu, this is good. 2023 was a rough one, especially this past summer. Thinking of you and yours, Cathy. 💗 Thank you for writing this poem!

  • I hope things don't come to this. This poem showcases the danger of going on the path we seem to be on - apathic to the problems around us. Written with such a honesty that hopefully forces people to wake up, well done!

  • Test4 months ago

    Disconcerting/ But utterly where we're at. Love the image of grabbing a snack -we've beome so used to the chaos we almost resigned to it! Brilliant piece!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    Disturbingly accurate, especially those wildfires on the west coast (I live in fear of those every summer)… Powerful piece. I don’t know if anyone can top that.

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    😱 Omg this is wonderful!!! Love it.

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Brilliant work Cathy! This one touched my ❤!

  • Muhammad Shaheer4 months ago

    Why cries for 2033? Madam Cathy! I love your words as they are so touching. Warm Wishes. You can read my poems.

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    Very powerful ❤️

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Magnificently written!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    I too cry for 2023. It was a very rough year!😢❤️

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    Goodness this isn't hard to imagine. Your words pack a serious punch. Although I was -1 in 1973...hahaha :) Awesome work, Nitty!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.