Poets logo

10 seconds to live

Written for Poppy's prompt

By Anna Published 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
45
Photo: google.com

Once before you die
you get one last chance
when you can relive
your life,
your last few minutes
when you close your eyes.
Your soul calms down,
and your heart slows down,
your mind is falling asleep.
It's a final countdown,
or rather a cooldown,
before a completely new starting?
This game is confusing...

10 seconds to live...

I see myself being born...
my parents are crying.
These are tears of joy,
but they don't know nothing
about how I will dissapoint 'em
I don't deserve them...

9 seconds till death...

I'm already a kid
playing around in the garden
with Suzy,
my only and favorite dog.
She passed away
and never returned
to make me smile again.
I was probably ten...

8 seconds to remember...

my teenage years
so memorable.
Yes, we were dumb and spontanious.
We threw parties and got drunk,
after, we drove a cool truck
First love...
sweeter than ever,
like wind chimes
play a song so special.
We travelled a lot,
built sandcastles,
sent postcards to all the family members
We laughed: "That's all that matters!"

7 seconds to regret...

We grew up together
but things got bad
I was left behind
It was just me and I.
Only had my body
not my soul.
I felt empty chasing fun
I could never get back
So I drank
more and more
I wanted alcohol.
It wasn't me anymore,
just a doll...

6 seconds to rethink...

I found myself on the streets.
Sound of sirens
muffled in the distance.
I lost everything...

5 seconds to wait...

It's bitterly cold
I'm still breathing
but it gets harder and harder
to keep going
I don't know
how much time I have left
before I freeze to death.

4 seconds to forgive...

My tears are turning
on my cheeks into ice
It's too late for me...
I realise
that all I feel is weakness and cold.
I'm starving,
haven't eaten for days...
whatever...
It's over for me.

3 seconds for hope...

I slowly close my eyes,
I start to pray in my misery.
It's something I learned years ago
When I was a kid...
We sat at the table
I remember
with mum and dad...
we were grateful for
what we had...

2 seconds to pray...

"Dear God!
I know I'm helpless
I can't fix my life...
Still I'm begging you,
one last time,
please forgive me,
and send someone
who'd look after me.
Someone who'd kneel down
at my grave and say:
"I miss you"
My Lord, I'm hearing you calling
and I won't resist,
not now...
I have nothing to leave behind,
not even a normal life
I take the second chance
you're giving me...
hope it'll never end..."

One last second to say goodbye...

It's time to leave
I'm going home,
towards the sky!



Written for Poppy's February Prompt:

Blackoutsad poetryMental Health
45

About the Creator

Anna

I love writing poems and stories so I decided to turn my talent into money to help out my family a bit. Please subscribe and tip or pledge if you enjoy my work. Any support is appreciated!🫶

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist25 days ago

    Very good!! Thank you!❤️😊💕

  • L.C. Schäfer25 days ago

    Oh this was so sad 😔 I kept hoping for a last second reprieve!

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    This was a powerful read Anna, and I like the way the “seconds to…” word changed with each second. It’s sad and familiar and comforting all at once, and “Only had my body not my soul. I felt empty chasing fun I could never get back” was a like that stuck out to me. Well done!

  • Blake Booth2 months ago

    Wow. I don’t really even know what to say. This was so creative and simultaneously so powerful. You have a gift at evoking emotion. Great job.

  • Sean Elliott2 months ago

    Great Work! Life is over so fast. This section really spoke to me: Only had my body not my soul. I felt empty chasing fun I could never get back So I drank more and more

  • Haychie_Artist2 months ago

    Loved IT!!! ❤️👏🏼😇

  • D. A. Ratliff2 months ago

    Powerful, and the construction of this poem is superb. Very well done!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    The countdown add a lot of power to this already emotional piece. Really well done.

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    What a beautiful and striking piece! Really lovely, moving work.

  • Stella Yan PhD2 months ago

    Love this poem, congrats on this top story!

  • Judah LoVato2 months ago

    Such a great effect with the countdown, it creates such clarity of thought through the life- the joys, sorrows, regrets, but also the affirmation at the end "I'm going home," Lovely

  • Ali SP2 months ago

    What an emotional journey you took me on in those last 10 seconds. Congrats on your top story!

  • Gargie S Anand2 months ago

    Oh no, that's deep. But that's a reality.

  • Test2 months ago

    Incredible poem.

  • Frances Helena2 months ago

    Wow! I really like how deep this is❤️

  • Student's dream2 months ago

    It hits hard

  • Gosh this was so poignant, intense and powerful! Such a brilliant concept you went with here. I loved it! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Brenton F2 months ago

    W O W ! and then some more! A fine piece of work! The countdown between your verse was a poem in and of itself! Congrats on the TS!

  • Ashley Shiflett2 months ago

    Oh wow. Fantastic! Congrats on top story.

  • Cyrus2 months ago

    Congrats!

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    what a fantastic perspective!

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    Just wow! Excellent!!

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    I had to read this one twice, to let it soak in. Damn, this is good!

  • Test2 months ago

    Anna Terrific work! Keep it going—congratulations!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.