Motivation logo

You Are in Control of Your Own Life

Period.

By Eric BurdonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
(Image by: @joshuaearie via Unsplash.com)

Let me ask you a few questions. Questions that I have asked myself over and over again and keep getting different answers:

  • How badly do you want to succeed at life? And;
  • How much are you willing to give up to achieve it?

The answer isn't so black and white as I've realized. Some of the things I thought would be cool to pursue were things that didn't quite fit me. I thought for the longest time that I wanted to be an accountant. But as soon as I was introduced to the potential lifestyle of an entrepreneur, I found that far more appealing than a desk job.

There's also the fact that there were some things that I wasn't ready to give up yet. My mindset wasn't prepared for it.

But as each passing day goes by, I'm getting more and more confident that I can give certain things up. Not to mention I can change my approach to certain things.

If you looked back to when I started, the content that I was posting on my Youtube channel is drastically different to now. Sure I've gotten better at taking videos and such, but how I composed myself, and the general theme of the videos are different than what it is like today. I still have remnants of it on my channel to this date to give people an idea.

But going back to sacrifices, there is always something that you have to give up. I thought there might be a way around that, but seriously there isn't. It's wishful thinking that you could make a few changes to your life right now and instantly make thousands of dollars.

You will need to give up a lot of things and do an overhaul of who you are as a person. It sucks, but as someone who is going through it, it's amazing. The biggest hurdle for me right now is I spend a lot of time on Youtube watching entertaining videos. These videos don't help me at all in growing as a person but they distract me from my work. The same thing goes for video games too. Although I plan to one day be a video game streamer, right now that's something in the distance.

My point with those questions is to figure out where you want to go with life. The lifestyle I touched on briefly above is the case for many other people. They've become solely consumers of entertainment. And all that's left in the end is nothing.

I will openly admit that what I've achieved in my life is literally next to nothing.

I've got a Youtube channel that's sort of okay, a book that hardly any has heard of, and a blog that's still got a lot of growing to do.

Yet that's more than those who have sat there dreaming of those things.

Because the big thing that I realize is that we are in control of our own lives. And how we can be more in control of our lives is asking those questions I mentioned above. But also challenging ourselves to fix things that we are unsatisfied with.

I'll admit even today that I'm writing this, I'm still telling myself to keep working and trying different things. I want to be branching out and making an impact and a difference in peoples lives. All by showing off my own lifestyle, how it's changing from something unremarkable to something worth sharing.

So my big question to you is: what do you want to do with your life?

Because you are in control of it and you can do all sorts of things for free.

There are plenty of universities that offer free courses. And it's from universities like Yale and Harvard. You can look up a Youtube video to do literally anything if you are stuck. And there are hundreds of thousands of people like me sharing their experiences, knowledge, and are open to mentor people and guide you.

For myself to truly succeed, I need to stop spending so much time being a consumer of content that doesn't help me. I need to give that up, as much as it is difficult. But instead, I want to replace it with a variety of things like reading and watching videos that do actually help me.

It's time to get moving. Are you ready?

To your growth!

. . . .

If you enjoyed this post, consider supporting myself and my work. Any shares are always appreciated too!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Eric Burdon

I used to say a lot, now I do a lot. Sharing advice, stories, aspirations, and thoughts along the way. Want to be a better person? Read some of my stories to help you grow and shine brightly!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.