Motivation logo

Wrestling for Inner Peace

Where a passion and her struggles helped save her life.

By Deanie CoplenPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Wrestling for Inner Peace
Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

There has always been one constant in my life. One thing that, no matter how I am feeling, always bring me peace.

Wrestling.

All I can remember as a kid is being completely mesmerized by the movements that these athletes made in the ring. From picking up a 300 pound man to doing crazy top rope maneuver's like a moon sault or an elbow drop.

"They say you never forget your first love, and I know this because my first love is wrestling." Beth Phoenix said this in her 2017 hall of fame speech. I've never related to anything more in my entire life.

I think my deep, emotional connection to it started when I was a kid. There was something about learning that what these athletes did in the ring to help tell a story was something that I could see myself doing.

Which is what brings me to today. I am now training to be a professional wrestler. Whenever I am in the ring it's like a calm inside of me.

My back hitting the mat, and that pain that I feel whenever I do is almost like a struggles and weaknesses leaving my body.

Especially when I run the ropes from one side of the ring to the other. The trick is to try and get the in three steps which takes a lot of determination. You whole mind, body, and soul need to be at 100 percent in order to make sure things are done right inside of the ring.

Not just inside of the ring is what matters most. It's also treating the surrounding areas and other people with respect. One major rule in wrestling is wiping your feet before you walk inside of the ring. There are two major reasons why; one is that the it's wiping away the dirt from beneath your shoes as the inside of the ring is a sacred place. The second thing is that you are getting rid of all of your current problems, and things going on in your life because your opponent is not what you are battling with in your daily life.

Another major part in pro wrestling is being able to protect your partner. Whether it's by making sure their neck doesn't break or even little things as changing a move because it could be proven to be devastating to them and could end up with them being injured or even ending their career.

Being inside of the ring, to me, is one of my most efficient ways to put my mind at ease. Even if my body isn't. Not to mention the way you get to expand your mind with trying out different characters and gimmicks until you get just the right one that expresses who you are

There has always been one constant in my life. One thing that, no matter how I am feeling, always bring me peace.

Wrestling.

All I can remember as a kid is being completely mesmerized by the movements that these athletes made in the ring. From picking up a 300 pound man to doing crazy top rope maneuver's like a moon sault or an elbow drop.

"They say you never forget your first love, and I know this because my first love is wrestling." Beth Phoenix said this in her 2017 hall of fame speech. I've never related to anything more in my entire life.

I think my deep, emotional connection to it started when I was a kid. There was something about learning that what these athletes did in the ring to help tell a story was something that I could see myself doing.

Which is what brings me to today. I am now training to be a professional wrestler. Whenever I am in the ring it's like a calm inside of me.

My back hitting the mat, and that pain that I feel whenever I do is almost like a struggles and weaknesses leaving my body.

Especially when I run the ropes from one side of the ring to the other. The trick is to try and get the in three steps which takes a lot of determination. You whole mind, body, and soul need to be at 100 percent in order to make sure things are done right inside of the ring.

Not just inside of the ring is what matters most. It's also treating the surrounding areas and other people with respect. One major rule in wrestling is wiping your feet before you walk inside of the ring. There are two major reasons why; one is that the it's wiping away the dirt from beneath your shoes as the inside of the ring is a sacred place. The second thing is that you are getting rid of all of your current problems, and things going on in your life because your opponent is not what you are battling with in your daily life.

Another major part in pro wrestling is being able to protect your partner. Whether it's by making sure their neck doesn't break or even little things as changing a move because it could be proven to be devastating to them and could end up with them being injured or even ending their career.

Being inside of the ring, to me, is one of my most efficient ways to put my mind at ease. Even if my body isn't. Not to mention the way you get to expand your mind with trying out different characters and gimmicks until you get just the right one that expresses who you are.

One of my most challenging moments was back in 2016. I had a very hard, and traumatic breakup that led me to thinking I couldn't do life anymore. That was until I heard my all time idol, Jon Moxley's (FKA Dean Ambrose in WWE) music.

I put all of my heart break, and emotional feelings into wanting to train like him, and be however I could be. He has helped me through times I never even thought were possible.

That's why this is the one thing that brings me peace within myself. I can always trust wrestling to fall back on when times get hard, or even just to sit back and enjoy. It doesn't matter how I am feeling because I know that no matter what, wrestling will always be there for me. I can always count on it, and rely on it to help me improve my mood.

I owe everything to professional wrestling, and I won't stop until I succeed.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.