Motivation logo

Why I Love Using TikTok

Reading, Writing, Dancing and Fun!

By Terri AllenPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3

TikTok is a very fun app that I use literally every single day. I am either posting my own TikToks, sending my friends videos that I thought were hilarious or just mindlessly scrolling for hours on end. I regularly find myself getting caught up and all of a sudden I’ve been on TikTok for hours and it’s dark outside. But I love it.

I’ve found myself posting a whole lot of my own TikToks and I am currently sitting at a modest 2000+ followers and 106k+ likes on my account. I posted one video a while back that garnered over a million views and the majority of my likes came from that one video. Just a silly little thing where other people had been using this AI filter to show ghosts in their house.

I found myself being so excited about how many views that video had gotten because I hadn’t had that many views before and I haven’t had one that viewed since.

However, I’ve been focusing more on publishing TikToks related to my writing and my reading to fair success. I appreciate every view on my videos and every like because it makes me feel more motivated to do the reading and writing.

Eventually I hope to have a book published so my ultimate goal is to have my own book to make TikToks about.

This is another section of the web that I am working on making my author platform and I hope that one day TikTok will be my biggest asset to becoming a full time author.

As motivational as making TikToks about my writing is I also find it very motivational to keep me held accountable to cut down on my to be read book list.

I make videos of me writing which include me documenting my writing goals, doing writing challenges and my progress with NaNoWriMo.

And for my reading I have just started a reading challenge which involved me writing down over a hundred book titles, some of which I hadn't read before and some I have read before and want to read again, putting them into a jar and I pick out a piece of paper and document with cute visuals as I read the book.

My to-be read list has been growing steadily over the years since I started buying my own books and I only found myself reading the same books over and over again. This challenge is a motivational and cute way to get me to read new books while rewarding myself with a comfort book every now and again.

I think TikTok is helping me with motivation a tonne because not only am I making my own videos where I am showing off my own reading and writing but my for you page is filled with people across the world doing their own reading and writing videos.

The community that I have on TikTok is very varied because in between my videos I do silly dances, funny videos and regularly use the filter that TikTok has to offer. So I have a range of viewers but recently I’ve been trying to get more into the reading and writing community.

So hopefully in the next few months I will continue the way that I am going and I will continue to post the relevant TikToks that I want to be posting and posting these TikToks on my YouTube channel too.

Posting videos gives me a sense of joy that I have been working away at my writing and it's motivating to look back on and think, “wow I was so productive that day I should do that again!”

It’s another really fun way to give myself something to look back on and it gains me motivation so there’s no harm in that!

Do any of you post TikToks? And if so leave a comment and I will follow you, we can be mutuals!

successsocial mediaself helpinterviewhow tohealinghappinessgoalsbook reviewadvice
3

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    I don't use Tiktok but it is good to have a simple creative outlet where you can do whatever you want

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.