Motivation logo

What Does Freedom Mean to me?

Let me rephrase that opener. What does air mean to me? What does food mean to me? What does happiness mean to me? They all have the same answer. It means everything to me. you might as well ask me what would I do for to leave without freedom is to wait on death to happen upon you and hope he is kinder than bondage. I cannot explain in exact terms what means to me is but I know I could never give it for all the money in the world.

By Nneka AniezePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
What Does Freedom Mean to me?
Photo by Kristina V on Unsplash

What Does Freedom Mean to me?

Let me rephrase that opener. What does air mean to me? What does food mean to me? What does happiness mean to me? They all have the same answer. It means everything to me. you might as well ask me what would I do for to leave without freedom is to wait on death to happen upon you and hope he is kinder than bondage. I cannot explain in exact terms what means to me is but I know I could never give it for all the money in the world. You know why that is because I have been trapped. I have been helpless, I have been crazy with a desperation that made me bite my nails until I tasted blood. You ask what freedom is. It is the ability to know who you are and know with all heavenly conviction that you are not owned by anyone. Your word is our word and your truth is never crafted. It is the simple ability to be for being sake and for nothing else.

In freedom, you get the chance to personally dedicate yourself to what you hold dear. Your life is dedicated on your behalf. You don’t have that luxury when you are imprisoned, be it the nicest and kindest kind of imprisonment that is so commonly seen in this time. You ask me what I mean by that. someone in a bad relationship is not really free, someone in a war that isn’t of his making isn’t really free, a miserable CEO with accounts overflowing isn’t really free, a lady with a baby she didn’t consent to grow inside her isn’t really free and that poor customer service with a permanent plastic smile is certainly not free.

Now, but Nicky, these are not all the same kind of imprisonment but I assure you, any one of them could easily kill. And never forget the saying that my mountain could be your molehill. And that is the cusp of freedom. To do as you want within the coffins of morality and human values. To have a value for your life that cannot be compared. But how is the CEO not free, you may ask? Do you think there is but one kind of freedom? Nonsense. There are different kinds of them and I shall slightly conflict myself by admitting that it is much worst to have your freedom taken by force than to give it up by one act or the other. Oh yes, much worst but what we must aim for as humans is well-rounded freedom of comfort that embraces every aspect of our lives such that one doesn’t take control of the rest and render them insignificant for as much money as you have if it takes control of your emotion, happiness and cast a shadow over the little things that are big in life, you are essentially a prisoner of your own freedom.

So as we pray for Ukraine in these hard times, we must settle down in a corner and count our blessings and if possible, name them one by one and then try to imagine what life would be like if we didn’t have one of the blessings we named. Bear in mind, I am not saying to quit your job and free yourself from all potential freedom restrains like jobs and relationships or such, no. I am simply saying that as you go about your business, bear in mind that if you are not in a war-ridden country where you have to leave everything you have spent your whole life building to run away, you should be sure that you have a semblance of freedom that will ensure you have a reason to live and be happy.

advicegoalshappinesshealinghow toquotessocial mediasuccessself help
Like

About the Creator

Nneka Anieze

Hello there,

Nice to meet you. My name is Nneka, mom of one living in Windsor, Ontario. I enjoy reading a lot and have decided to try my hand at writing. Hoping to better my skills and perfect my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.