Motivation logo

We Should NOT Fear Death..

Here's Why...

By Hayley DodwellPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Aleteia

Hi everyone, my name is Hayley Dodwell, I do my very own videos for Facebook -

https://www.facebook.com/LetsTalkWithHayley/

You can also find me on YouTube -

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWd0Fmds8d5uX8QE8PPQVOg

Where I talk about the many genres of life. I share my knowledge, experiences, advice and I do it in an uplifting, fun way! Recently I did a video sharing my beliefs and opinions on death, this subject received a lot of attention, with great feedback and I wanted to share this video with everyone here on Vocal too, please do check it out..

The video is below…

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWd0Fmds8d5uX8QE8PPQVOg

Episode 6: Death.

Death really is a subject which not many people really enjoy discussing. I mean it's never the hot topic of discussion at a dinner party, right?! It's always a kind of hush hush, behind closed doors talk. We're just not open about our thoughts of dying, when surely each and everyone of us at some point would have thought about it. It is going to happen!

Death really is a subject which not many people really enjoy discussing. I mean it's never the hot topic of discussion at a dinner party, right?! It's always a kind of hush hush, behind closed doors talk. We're just not open about our thoughts of dying, when surely each and everyone of us at some point would have thought about it. It is going to happen!

As I say in my video I have no fear of dying. To me death is nothing to be afraid of. It's the cycle of life. Yet I do fully understand why it is a very common fear amongst people, due to death being the ‘unknown’ next step after living. Hence why I discuss the knowledge I discovered from researching many peoples near death experiences in my video.

Photo Credit: The Sun

Goldie Hawn does a fascinating chapter in her book A Lotus Grows In The Mud - she travels to India after the death of her beloved Mother, Laura Hawn.

“What are we mourning? What are we running from? Death is the one inevitability in life, yet so many of us, especially in the West, are uncomfortable with it. Certainly in my house, we never discussed it. My parents never spoke of death, and even to the very end my Mother refused to say, ‘I'm going to die.’ And yet she did. We all do.

During this healing journey, I sensed some divine force had brought me to this mystical city to find the answers I was seeking to questions in my life, forcing me to focus on questions about death and to immerse myself in a culture that so embraces it. By rejecting the normal Western reaction of being so afraid of dying, I came to believe that it is vital that we come to terms with death, especially our own, in order to live out the rest of our lives fully and consciously.

Know that you are going to die, then back up and live each day with that truth in mind. Wake up each morning happy to be alive.”

Goldie’s words here are so powerful. Why do we run away from it? As yes, death will happen, to all of us. It is here in the Western world that we shy away from talking about it, yet in a place like India death is truly embraced within their culture. I totally agree with Goldie that we all must come to terms with our own death in order to live out our lives fully. We must then make the most of every day, every moment, as life is so precious.

So yes, to me death is nothing to be afraid of. I believe that we should be more open about it, we should discuss our opinions on it, it's something in life which we can guarantee will happen to everyone, we will all die. But we should not worry about it or fear it, as we have no control over it, it is out of our hands. So waste no energy stressing over it, but use that energy on living, living the best possible life which you can.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Hayley Dodwell

I am a freelance writer. As well as Vocal, I have also written articles for numerous websites, including, Eighties Kids, WhatCulture, Child Of The 1980's, Online Book Club, GoNOMAD Travel, Hubpages, and ScreenHub Entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.