Motivation logo

We're All Squirrels

EP 02 | Surviving Any Storms

By Sophal HengPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
We're All Squirrels
Photo by Cat Miller on Unsplash

While I wait to see how long it takes to get a post approved on Vocal. Media, I want to discuss my thought for the day.

I was sitting outside enjoying one of the most relaxing smokes of my life, I saw a squirrel I would like to call “Pee Pee” running from one side of my yard to the other, right in front of me.

Curiosity strikes and I observed the weight that he had gained.

I realize he was storing food away in my flower bed.

One by one, he spits it out from his mouth and dug it into the flower bed. He petted the ground even to ensure that his food was safe.

I recorded him in which he noticed. He tried luring me away from his hidden supermarket and I pretended to follow. I pretended to walk away from his underground food storage and moments later. He was back with more to hide.

Winter Survival

With so much going on, few people understand will ever understand what it means to struggle for the winter because winter does not exist across the land.

I have been an East Coast girl all my life, so I have endured endless and long months of snowstorms, blizzards, and having to dig out a parking spot. I have also encountered living in hot ass Southern California where the nights are cold but they filled the days with sandstorms and heat. Then there were the five years that I lived in Seattle where I did not come across snow but winter long rainstorms. My fear with Seattle was the deadly black ice attacks you will come across when walking down the hills as you head to work.

I know black ice. I don’t like black ice.

I was fortunate to never come across one while living there. That would have been horrible.

I usually survive winter by layering up with the most comfortable piece of wardrobe and work from home. I dislike winter, but I will tolerate it. I hated going out and coming home with dry skins. There is a solution for that. It’s called lotion. I still hate it. I would need at least three bottles every week because dry skin is an epidemic for me.

Sometimes I feel like Pee Pee. When I know winter is coming, I would store away the things and hideaway for the entire season. I will emerge when the groundhog is out and about, prancing for its shadow.

We all must admit that we have a little Pee Pee in us. We are always surviving once winter rears its ugly head.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Sophal Heng

Welcome to my Vocal Media where I share my daily thoughts and posts that would originally be posted on my website at sophalheng.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.